Samford University


Connie Henke Yarbro

Connie Henke Yarbro, B.S.N. ’79, M.S., RN, FAAN, is an internationally known leader and lecturer in oncology nursing. She is an adjunct clinical associate professor, Sinclair School of Nursing at the University of Missouri—Columbia. One of the founders of the Oncology Nursing Society [ONS] in 1975, she served as the first treasurer and, later, as president of the ONS. In 1981, she founded the ONS Foundation, serving as president from 1982 to 1988. She is past president of the International Society for Nurses in Cancer Care, and she has served on numerous boards and advisory panels, including the board of trustees for the Association of Community Cancer Centers; the American Association for Cancer Education; the Medical Advisory Board of; the board of directors for the Center for Biomedical Continuing Education; the Alternative and Complementary Methods of Cancer Management Committee of the American Cancer Society; the National Institutes of Health; and the U.S. Pharmacopeia. Connie Henke Yarbro
Yarbro has published more than 100 articles and a book chapter on topics related to cancer nursing and care. She is editor-in-chief of the journal, Seminars in Oncology Nursing, and she is one of three editors of comprehensive textbooks of oncology nursing, Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice (7th ed.); Cancer Symptom Management (3rd ed.); Oncology Nursing Review (5th ed.); and Breast Cancer Certification Review. She is coeditor of Oncology Nursing in the Ambulatory Setting and Cancer Pain Management (2nd ed.). 

She has received numerous local, national and international awards, such as a Lifetime Achievement Award from the ONS and Distinguished Merit Award from the International Society of Nurses in Cancer Care. She was elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing and is a member of Sigma Theta Tau International.

 Learn more about Samford University’s centennial coeducation honorees.

close x