• Image 21474866936 /uploadedImages/_Headers/samford-hall-header-image.jpg Samford Hall Samford Hall
DynamicContent 2147490870

Religion Majors Chosen for FTE Fellowships

Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2010-05-25

FTE Fellowship RecipientsRecent Samford University graduate Jeremiah I. Chester and religion majors Megan Lacy and Andrew Toney (shown in photo right to left) have been awarded highly competitive fellowships from the Fund for Theological Education (FTE).

Chester, a May philosophy and religion graduate from West Palm Beach, Fla., was named a 2010 FTE Congregational Fellow in recognition of his demonstrated gifts and commitment to potential ministry.

He will receive a $10,000 fellowship to assist with tuition and living expenses during his first year in the Master of Divinity degree program at Princeton Theological Seminary. The fellowship also provides for him to attend the 2010 FTE Leaders in Ministry Conference June 16-20 at Boston University School of Theology in Boston, Mass.

Chester’s FTE fellowship is co-sponsored by his home church, Orthodox Zion Primitive Baptist Church in West Palm Beach, Fla.

Lacy and Toney will each receive a FTE undergraduate fellowship, which includes $2,000 for tuition and other educational expenses or for a self-designed experience related to the exploration of ministry. The fellowship also provides for them to attend the 2010 FTE conference in Boston, Mass.

Lacy is a rising senior from Murfreesboro, Tenn.  Toney is a rising junior from Collierville, Tenn.

FTE undergraduate and congregational fellows are chosen by a national committee of theological educators and church leaders on the basis of academic achievement, an interest in exploring ministry as a vocation and demonstrated leadership in a church or school. Fellows were selected from applicants across the U.S. and Canada.

FTE fellowship awards are funded by Lilly Endowment, Inc.

More Articles

  • ContentBlock 21474865809

    News Archives

  • ContentBlock 21474865211

    Have Questions?
    Get in Touch:

    University Communication

    Philip Poole
    Executive Director of University Communication