Summer 2000
Vol. 17 No. 2
Publication Number:
USPS 244-800


FAQ: Samford

Heading to Graduate School with a Fistful of Scholarship Dollars

Viewpoints: Berry and Flynt

Unclaimed Bargains

Miss Alabama 2000

Campus News
Samford, WMU Name Vaughn Director of Christian Women's Leadership Center

Determined Nurse Bell Keeps Clinic Open, Studies Business Side with Stanley Scholarship

Leadership for a Changing World: Rice Suggests Formula for Success

Samford's Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing Received CCNE Accreditation for Bachelor's, Master's Programs

'Burst of New Energy upon the Sciences'

Major Gift to Athletics

Bulldogs Plan to Exercise Option Again in 2000

Men's Team Captures First TAAC Track Title

News Briefs
Bill Mathews Named VP as Laverne Farmer Retires

Interior Design Gets FIDER Accreditation

Translation Prompts Scholarship Fund

Other Stories
Bobby Bowden Day
Faculty Accolades
Class Notes
In Memoriam


Summer 2000

Faculty Accolades

William P. Collins (History and Political Science) and Paul A. Richardson (Assistant Dean, Music) were named Lilly Fellows and invited to participate in the Christian Scholars and Academic Culture Seminar this summer at Mount St. Mary's College in Maryland.

Donna Dunaway (Exercise Science and Sports Medicine) received the Honor Award, highest recognition given annually by the American Alliance of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance at its national convention.

Ginger Frost (History and Political Science) received a National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Stipend of $4,000 to help fund a research trip to Britain to work on her book, As Husband and Wife: Cohabitation in Nineteenth Century England.

Michael J. Janas (Debate Director) was named Forensic Educator of the Year during the Southern Forensic Association meeting during the spring. He was cited for directing six Samford debate teams to the National Tournament since 1994 and for community outreach. Janas founded the Birmingham Area Debate League, which involves 300 students from 50 area high schools in monthly competition.

Janice Lasseter (English) was named Outstanding Alumna of the College of Liberal Arts at the University of Alabama in Huntsville. She was recognized at the UAH Honors Convocation in April.

Dennis Sansom (Chair, Religion and Philosophy) has been invited to join a study commission of the Baptist World Alliance that explores issues and publishes works on Christian ethics. As part of his responsibility, he will attend BWA General Council meetings for five years.

Jean Thomason (Director, Davis Library) was elected vice president/president-elect of the Alabama Association of College and Research Libraries at the annual Alabama Library Association meeting this spring.