Samford Publications

Summer 2000
Vol. 17 No. 2
Publication Number:
USPS 244-800


FAQ: Samford

Heading to Graduate School with a Fistful of Scholarship Dollars

Viewpoints: Berry and Flynt

Unclaimed Bargains

Miss Alabama 2000

Campus News
Samford, WMU Name Vaughn Director of Christian Women's Leadership Center

Determined Nurse Bell Keeps Clinic Open, Studies Business Side with Stanley Scholarship

Leadership for a Changing World: Rice Suggests Formula for Success

Samford's Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing Received CCNE Accreditation for Bachelor's, Master's Programs

'Burst of New Energy upon the Sciences'

Major Gift to Athletics

Bulldogs Plan to Exercise Option Again in 2000

Men's Team Captures First TAAC Track Title

News Briefs
Bill Mathews Named VP as Laverne Farmer Retires

Interior Design Gets FIDER Accreditation

Translation Prompts Scholarship Fund

Other Stories
Bobby Bowden Day
Faculty Accolades
Class Notes
In Memoriam


Summer 2000

Men's Team Captures First TAAC Track Title

The Samford men's track team won its first Trans America Athletic Conference Championship this spring, winning seven events at the annual meet held this year at Troy State University.

The Bulldogs established three TAAC records on the men's side. Derrick Jones, named the TAAC's Most Outstanding Male Track Performer, won the 110-meter high hurdles with a time of 14.12 seconds. Aaron Bishop captured the 3,000-meter steeplechase with a time of 9:32.91. Josh Jones won the pole vault with a 15-foot jump.

Other Samford men's winners were Paul VonHerrman in the 800-meter (1:53.71), Alan Parish in the 1,500-meter (3:58.19), David Henson in the 400-meter intermediate hurdles (53.92) and Frank Walker in the shotput (40 feet 7.5 inches).

Head Coach Glenn McWaters was named TAAC Coach of the Year. The men's team also won last fall's TAAC cross country title, and McWaters was Coach of the Year in that sport as well.

The Samford women's team finished fifth in the TAAC Championships. Shana Ely won the 800-meter with a TAAC-record time of 2:11.53. Tara Bourque was Samford's other women's winner, taking the 1,500-meter event with a time of 4:42.2.