August 7 – August 8

Hosted by Samford University Cumberland School of Law

Sponsored by:

Trial Advocacy Consulting & Training LLC Logo


Friday, August 7 – Saturday, August 8, 2020
Friday: 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. EST immediately followed by online trivia
Saturday: 11 a.m. - 4 p.m. EST

Join us for the Training Advocates Conference 2020: Our Virtual Reality (TAC), a conference designed to address our “new normal” of teaching and coaching online. This conference convenes coaches, faculty, program directors, and competition directors in all fields of advocacy to learn the best practices for teaching competition students, and hosting competitions virtually as well as in a traditional setting. Since COVID-19 accelerated our use of virtual platforms and technology, most law schools transitioned to an online platform for the summer semester. In order to comply with those restrictions and also maximize attendance, our program will be offered completely online while safely socially distancing.

The registration fee is $175 for the first registrant, $125 for the second registrant from the same organization or law school (use discount code 50off), and $75 for each additional registrant from the same organization or law school (use discount code 100off). This fee covers technological and administrative support. Because this conference is completely online, we are hiring professional technicians to host the conference in order to minimize any technological glitches. Additionally, we are applying for CLE credit in Alabama and, if approved, we will supply a certificate of completion for your state bar association.


Topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Teaching Advocacy for Online Competitions
  • Hosting an Online Competition
  • The Nuts & Bolts of Technology for Teaching and Competitions
  • How to Use Technology to Maximize Teaching Results
  • An Update on the Judiciary’s Virtual Reality
  • A Call to Change– A Time to Act: Responding to the National Movement for Social Justice
  • Updates About the National Association of Legal Advocacy Educators (NALAE)
  • Open Forums with National and International Competition Hosts

Additionally, the conference will offer breakout sessions specifically geared towards all facets of student competitions including mock trial, alternative dispute resolution and moot court.

Panelists include:

  • Ramona Albin, Samford University Cumberland School of Law
  • Julie Baker, University of Massachusetts School of Law 
  • Larry Bates, Baylor Law School 
  • Heather Baxter, Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad College of Law
  • A.J. Bellido de Luna, St. Mary’s University School of Law
  • Justin Bernstein, UCLA School of Law
  • Elizabeth Boals, Stetson University College of Law
  • Brooke Bowman, Stetson University College of Law
  • Marian Braccia, Temple University Beasley School of Law
  • Jeffrey Brooks, Louisiana State University, Paul M. Herbert Law Center
  • Jeff Carmon, North Carolina Central University School of Law
  • Kellie Casey, University of Georgia School of Law 
  • Megan Chaney, Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad College of Law
  • Marnell Cooper, Palmer Cooper LLC 
  • Jennifer Copland, Michigan State University College of Law
  • Rebecca Delfino, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles
  • Matthew J. Dowd, The George Washington University Law School
  • The Honorable David Erickson, Chicago-Kent College of Law
  • Jules Epstein, Temple University Beasley School of Law
  • Lou Fasulo, Pace University Law School
  • Keely Feeley, Stetson University College of Law
  • Setara Foster, Samford University Cumberland School of Law
  • Rob Galloway, South Texas College of Law
  • Jason Goss, St. Mary's University School of Law
  • Joanne Hodge, UIC John Marshall Law School 
  • Jodi Hudson, Seton Hall Law School
  • Sara Jacobson, Temple University James E. Beasley School of Law
  • Elizabeth Lippy, Trial Advocacy Consulting and Training LLC
  • Robert Little, Baylor Law School
  • Erika McArdle, Florida State Attorney's Office
  • Kelly Navarro, UIC John Marshall Law School
  • Imokahi Okolo, The University of Akron School of Law
  • Susan Poehls, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles
  • The Honorable Jim Roberts, Samford University Cumberland School of Law
  • Dean Charlie Rose, Ohio Northern University Petit College of Law
  • Laura Rose, University of South Dakota School of Law
  • Laurence Rose, University of Miami School of Law
  • Jared Rosenblatt, Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University 
  • Grant Rost, Liberty University School of Law 
  • Dave Schott, University of Denver Sturm College of Law
  • Nancy Schultz, Chapman University Fowler School of Law
  • Robert Sherwin, Texas Tech University School of Law 
  • Adam Shlahet, Fordham Law School
  • Connie Smothermon, University of Oklahoma College of Law
  • Gwen Stern, Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law
  • Kent Streseman, Santa Clara University School of Law 
  • Lynn Su, New York Law School 
  • Brittany Gail Thomas, American University Washington College of Law
  • Sara Williams, Samford University Cumberland School of Law
  • Patricia Wilson, Baylor Law School 
  • Sklyar Wholpe, University of Illinois College of Law