Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2010-09-22


Samford University’s Department of Journalism and Mass Communication will offer seven partial scholarships to incoming freshmen for fall 2011.

The scholarships, worth $2,000 per year, will be awarded based on ACT scores, high school grades, participation in media-related clubs and volunteer work. The scholarships can be renewed every year that the student maintains a 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0.

“These scholarships can provide $8,000 in financial assistance during a student’s time at Samford,” said Samford JMC chair Bernie Ankney. “They can help high school students receive an outstanding education in journalism and mass communication at an affordable cost.”

Samford offers programs in print journalism, broadcast journalism, public relations and advertising. The JMC department also houses Samford’s interdisciplinary film production minor and offers courses in web and visual communication. Samford journalism students regularly win awards for their work, and graduate to be highly competitive in the job market.

“Samford graduates work for some of the top magazines, newspapers, television stations and public relations and advertising organizations in the nation,” said Dr. Ankney.  “This scholarship is a great way to ensure a great future in a journalism and mass communication job.”

To receive a scholarship application, interested students can call Ankney at (205) 726-2948 or email him at  Submission deadline is Feb. 1, 2011.

Founded by Alabama Baptists in 1841, Samford, with an enrollment of 4,715 students from 47 states and 16 foreign countries, is Alabama’s largest privately supported university.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.