Posted by Sean Flynt on 2011-02-16


Dr. Andrew J. Lampkins of Samford's Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry will be the first to hold a new professorship honoring former Chemistry department chair John R. Sampey, Jr.

The holder of the Sampey Research Professorship must exemplify the high standards modeled by Sampey and greatly admired by former student Dr. Hugh Linder `28, whose gift created the professorship.

Like Sampey, who served at Samford in the 1920s and 1930s, Lampkins is a prolific researcher. Since joining Samford's faculty in 2008 Lampkins has established one of the most active research laboratories at the university. His research with colleagues and students focuses on the synthesis of novel organic compounds that may be useful in treating Alzheimer’s disease. Along with his published research, Lampkins collaborates with exceptional undergraduate students in research and scholarly presentations. He also conducts research within Samford’s McWhorter School of Pharmacy, where he holds a joint faculty appointment. Lampkins has established himself as an integral part of the growing role of research within the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Samford.

"The Sampey Research Professorship is the first to be established in our college in over 40 years," said Howard College of Arts and Sciences Dean David Chapman. "It will strengthen our reputation as an academic institution, help us recruit outstanding chemistry professors to our university and provide direct benefits to students involved in undergraduate research."

Chapman said the honor also is a reminder of the lasting bond that can develop between a professor and a student. 


About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.