Samford University’s Frances Marlin Mann Center for Ethics and Leadership presented its inaugural Leadership and Character Awards at a Nov. 15 ceremony.

Beginning this year, the awards will be given annually to students nominated by deans and other university executives and selected for their consistent leadership and strong character, including humility, courage, self-control and justice.

The 2013 honorees are:

Timothy Lewis (McWhorter School of Pharmacy)
Scott McKaig (Brock School of Business)
Clayton Hornback (Beeson Divinity School)
Bethany Orick (School of the Arts)
Cameron Thomas (Howard College of Arts & Sciences)
Caitlyn White (Cumberland School of Law)
Hannah Barnette (Orlean Bullard Beeson School of Education)
Cari Gelderman (Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing)
Cody Russell (School of Health Professions)

Cameron Thomas earned the additional honor of the Mann Center’s Joe McDade Scholarship, which carries a one-time gift of approximately $3,000. The ideal nominee for the Joe McDade demonstrates a life and character lived in the spirit of Christ; a contribution to the overall betterment and wellbeing of the University; participation in a wide range of campus life; leadership ability; an embodiment of the overall goals, mission, and spirit of the University; and commitment to the long range development and wellbeing of the University.

“I am delighted that we have the opportunity to recognize students who have such great potential as men and women of character, and who are already making the most of that potential,” said Mann Center program manager Azalea Hulbert. “The quality of the inaugural cohort of students chosen for this award is outstanding, and represents the very best of Samford.”
Hulbert also expressed gratitude for the support of Samford alumni Joe McDade (61) and Marvin L. Mann ('54,) who have made possible the awards and the larger work of the Mann Center.
About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.