Posted by Sean Flynt on 2015-01-29
Samford University Communication Studies professor Michael Janas was inducted into the 2015 Barkley Forum Gold Key society Jan. 23.

The Gold Key society recognizes significant contributions to forensics education and is the most prestigious honor given by the Barkley Forum of Emory University. Each year the members of the self-perpetuating Key Society invite a small number of debate teachers from schools across the nation into membership in a ceremony held during the Barkley Forum for High Schools at Emory University. Dr. Janas' selection into the Key Society is particularly noteworthy given that he is not a high school debate coach. Only 20 other non-high school debate coaches in the nation have received the honor. Of the 172 members of the Society, only six have been from Alabama.

Dr. Janas was inducted as part of a three-person class including Shane Stafford of the Blake School in Minnesota and Mario Herrera of Henry Grady High School in Atlanta and the Atlanta Urban Debate League.

In addition to serving as the president of the American Forensics Association, Dr. Janas was the director of debate at Samford for 12 years and founded the Birmingham Area Debate League. He now coaches teams at Homewood Middle School and Edgewood Elementary School. He has served as the chair of the National Communication Association’s Committee on International Discussion and Debate, head coach of the U.S. National Debate Team and as a member of the National Debate Tournament Committee.
About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.