Published on October 19, 2015  

According to Dr. Stephen Chew, chair of our Department of Psychology, the Annual Conference on Teaching (ACT) is the main conference for the Society for the Teaching of Psychology. At the most recent conference, five of the 27 research papers selected for presentation were from Samford students. The strong record of acceptance is a testimonial to the scholarship of the students and to Dr. Chew’s attention to their work. Congratulations to Joshua Aarons, Kevin Figlewicz, Keke Fletcher, Sarah Pryor, Will Brennan, Ashley Ferguson, Parisa Poorak, Sarah Tarnakow, Jeremy Dale, Ashlyn Ward, Rebecca Womack, Sara Nolin, Mikala Pickens, Katherine M. Wood, and Ellen Pacsi.

The world is better because of Samford’s environment for teaching, learning, and research.

About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.