• ContentBlock 64424510099

    The Pellegrino Medal

    In establishing the Pellegrino Medal, the advisers, faculty and fellows of the HEAL Institute created a mechanism to honor individuals recognized nationally as leaders “for contributions to healthcare ethics in the selfless spirit of Edmund D. Pellegrino.” In 1998, Dr. Pellegrino received the first lifetime achievement award granted by the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities, and at the presentation of that award, he was called the “father of the American bioethics movement.”

    Previous Pellegrino Medalists Edmund D. Pellegrino


    George Annas, J.D., M.P.H., 2007
    DeWitt C. Baldwin, Jr., M.D., 2010
    Tom L. Beauchamp, Ph.D., 2004
    Virginia Trotter Betts, M.S.N., J.D., F.A.A.N., 2003
    David Brushwood, R.Ph., J.D., 2012
    Robert A. Buerki, Ph.D., R.Ph., 2006
    James F. Childress, Ph.D., 2004
    Ronald E. Cranford, M.D., 2004
    Thomas E. Corts, Ph.D., 2006
    Joseph O. Dean, Jr., Ph.D., 2011
    Sister Virginia Delaney, D.C., 2002
    Linda L. Emanuel, M.D., Ph.D. , 2004
    Joseph L. Fink, B.S., Pharm., J.D., 2010
    John C. Fletcher, Ph.D., 2001
    Amy Marie Haddad, Ph.D., M.S.N., 2007
    Stanley Hauerwas, Ph.D., 2008
    Sandra H. Johnson, J.D., LL.M., 2003
    Albert R. Jonsen, Ph.D., 2002
    Loretta M. Kopelman, Ph.D., 2008
    John D. Lantos, M.D. , 2012
    Karen Lebacqz, Ph.D., 2009
    Lisa M. Lee, Ph.D., M.S, 2014
    William F. May, Ph.D., 2008
    R. Clayton McWhorter, 2001
    Alan Meisel, J.D., 2004
    Steven Miles, M.D., 2006
    Edmund D. Pellegrino, M.D., M.A.C.P., 2001
    Gregory E. Pence, Ph.D., 2006
    Joy Hinson Penticuff, R.N., Ph.D., 2010
    David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D., 2011
    Lawrence Schneiderman, M.D., 2007
    Marion Gray Secundy, Ph.D., 2001
    Mark Siegler, M.D., 2002
    Mickey C. Smith, Ph.D., 2003
    Daniel P. Sulmasy, O.F.M., M.D., Ph.D., 2009
    Sister Carol Taylor, C.S.F.N., R.N., Ph.D., 2005
    Robert M. Veatch, Ph.D., 2011
    Louis D. Vottero, M.S., R.Ph., 2006
    Bruce D. White, D.O., JD, 2014
    William J. Winslade, Ph.D., J.D., 2002