Samford University

University Curriculum Committee

Committee on University Curriculum

See Document Archives for committee minutes.

Committee Members

    David Garza



    Henry Glotfelty



    Carolyn Crocker



    Dennis Price



    David Hogg



    Mandy Hilsmier (Chair)



    Alison Jackson



    Corky Strickland



    Stephanie Rollins



    Vicki Rochester



    Richard Dendy


    School of Arts

    Michael Kendrach



Ex-Officio Members

    Ex-officio members: Nancy Biggio, Chris Metress, Angela Ferguson, Jay Flynn, and Jane Leask. 

Meeting Dates

Meets on the following Fridays at 12:00 p.m. (unless otherwise noted) in DIV S111.

October 3, 2014 (12:30 start due to room availability)

November 7, 2014

December 5, 2014

February 6, 2015

March 6, 2015

April 3, 2015

May 8, 2015



UCC Forms


Any Individual submitting a proposal is strongly encouraged to attend the UCC meeting to discuss the proposal under consideration, to provide clarification, if required, and to receive "first hand" any changes necessary for the proposal to proceed. If that individual is unable to be present, an informed representative is strongly encouraged to attend.


This committee shall have responsibility to review and approve curricula in three areas:

1.  General Curriculum.  The committee studies revisions and 
     changes to the general curriculum of the University and brings
     recommendations to the Provost, deans and Faculty Senate.
     Periodically, the committee reviews course offerings to identify 
     duplications and proliferation.

2.  Academic Programs.  The committee advises the Provost on the
     curricula of programs offering academic credit.

3.  School Curricula.  The committee advises the Provost and deans
     on curriculum matters within the schools that have University
     level implications.  Curriculum decisions of all schools are
     submitted to the University Curriculum Committee for advisory
     review of their consistency with University policy.  In this 
     process, the unique responsibility of the faculties of each of the
     schools and colleges for their individual curriculum policies and
     programs is recognized.

Committee Charges: review all new programs, program changes, course changes and course creations put forth by the various schools/colleges represented at the university. 

Composition (Faculty):Arts and Sciences (3)       Education (1)        Arts (1)
Business (1)                    Law (1)                Nursing (1)
Divinity (1)                      Library (1)            Pharmacy (1)

Ex-Officio (non-voting):Provost of Designee; Dean of Academic Services, Student; Assistant Provost; Chair of the Assessment Committee; Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee

Total:  11 voting; 7 non-voting