Leading experts are available to address breaking news and comment on a variety of topics. Browse the list of experts below, or use the filter box to search for experts in a specific area of interest. For a list of experts by topic, go to the university expert list.

Kelly Atkins, Ph.D., D.P.T., PT
Preclinical Models of Neurotrauma, Spinal Cord Injury, Neuropathic Pain, Neuroprotection
katkins3@samford.edu
205-726-4415

View Profile

Christopher Ballmann, Ph.D., FACSM
Exercise physiology, cardiovascular disease, muscular dystrophy, skeletal muscle biology
cballman@samford.edu
205-726-4714

View Profile

Courteney L. Benjamin, Ph.D., CSCS
Thermoregulation, Hydration and sports nutrition, Athlete monitoring, Exercise performance
cbenjami@samford.edu
205-726-4424

View Profile

C. Scott Bickel, Ph.D., PT
Exercise physiology, neuromuscular electrical stimulation, skeletal muscle, spinal cord injury, rehabilitation in China
cbickel@samford.edu
205-726-4425

View Profile

Andrea Bowens, D.P.T., PT, OCS
orthopedics, sports medicine
abowens2@samford.edu
205-726-4438

View Profile

Matthew P. Ford, Ph.D., PT
Health, Parkinson’s Disease, Adult Neurorehabilitation, Community Health and Wellness
mford2@samford.edu
205-726-4435

View Profile

John B. Hurt, M.P.A.S., PA-C
Emergency medicine, Urgent care, Surgery and surgical disease
jhurt@samford.edu
205-726-4513

View Profile

Allison Jackson, Ph.D.
Health, Sport, Motor Development, Students with Disabilities in Physical Education
ajjackso@samford.edu
205-726-2115

View Profile

Kelly Jackson, M.S. CCC-SLP
School age language and articulation; dysphagia; geriatric communication disorders
kjacks17@samford.edu

View Profile

Margaret L. Johnson, SLP.D., CCC-SLP
Health, Neurologic Trauma, Stroke, Brain Injury, Aphasia
mjohns26@samford.edu
205-726-4461

View Profile

Alan P. Jung, Ph.D.
Health, Undergraduate Research in Health Fields
apjung@samford.edu
205-726-4062

View Profile

Carol L. Koch, Ed.D., CCC-SLP
Health, Pediatric Speech and Language Disorders, Speech Sound Disorders, Early Intervention, Childhood Apraxia of Speech, Autism Spectrum Disorders
ckoch2@samford.edu
205-726-4576

View Profile

Thomas J. Kopec, Ph.D., LAT, ATC
Therapeutic modalities, exercise recovery, performance recovery, heart rate variability, musculoskeletal ultrasound
tkopec@samford.edu
205-726-4713

View Profile

John Petrella, Ph.D.
Health, Sport, Skeletal Muscle Changes and Aging, Resistance Training
jkpetrel@samford.edu
205-726-4548

View Profile

Maegan Powell, D.P.T., PT
Pediatrics, Acute Care
mpowell7@samford.edu
205-726-4437

View Profile

Laura S. Promer, M.S., CCC-SLP
School age language based reading and writing disorders
lpromer@samford.edu
205-726-4667

View Profile

Rebecca Rogers, M.S.
Exercise physiology, exercise testing and prescription, adapted physical activity, disability sport and fitness
rrogers1@samford.edu
205-726-2717

View Profile

Sarah Ross, D.P.T., PT, GCS, CEEAA
Geriatrics, skilled nursing and rehabilitation
sross@samford.edu
205-726-4569

View Profile

Hollea A.M. Ryan, Au.D., Ph.D., CCC-A
Hearing Loss in Pediatrics and Geriatrics
hryan@samford.edu
205-726-4578

View Profile

William Scogin, Sc.D., D.P.T., OCS, COMT
Orthopedics, Manual therapy, Surface anatomy
wscogin@samford.edu
205-726-4451

View Profile

Sarah H. Szynkiewicz, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Swallowing disorders
sszynkie@samford.edu
205-726-4579

View Profile

Karen Thatcher, Ed.D., CCC-SLP
Child Language, Emergent Literacy, Cognitive Communication deficits secondary to dementia
kthatche@samford.edu
205-726-4668

View Profile