Cumberland School of Law offers a full complement of Continuing Legal Education (CLE) seminars led by distinguished attorneys from the Alabama Bar, top legal consultants from across the nation, and our own outstanding faculty.
Cumberland School of Law continuing education seminars are available for live CLE credit in Alabama. View each seminar below for complete program and registration details.
The Employment Law Update is co-sponsored with the Labor and Employment Law Section of the Alabama State Bar. This Continuing Legal Education seminar offers 6.4 hours, including 1 hour of ethics.
Most lunchtime webcasts are one hour long and count as live CLE credit. On-demand courses are also available.
Mandatory Professionalism Seminars
The Alabama State Bar MCLE Rule 9 requires all newly admitted members of the bar to complete a three-hour course in professionalism within 12 months of admission. Cumberland CLE administers the program for the Alabama State Bar in odd years and CLE Alabama in even years. If you think you may be excluded from this requirement, please contact the Alabama State Bar by calling 800-354-6154 or 334-269-1515.
Oct. 20, 2023 | In Person and Live Webcast
Nov. 17, 2023 | In Person
Cumberland School of Law CLE offers a wide range of online CLE courses. Conveniently view anytime, anywhere, in increments of time that are convenient for you, and without the time and expense of travel away from your office. Pursuant to Alabama CLE Rule 4.1.16, you can receive half (six) of your CLE credit hours per year online.
Please note that you must follow all the steps to submit a completion certificate in order to receive MCLE credit in Alabama whose regulations permit attorneys to earn six hours annually for pre-approved online courses.
Frequently Asked Questions
How can I find help with an online CLE program?
Assistance with our online CLE programs, presented by InReach, is provided by their technical support at 877-880-1335.
What are the CLE requirements for Alabama lawyers?
Unless exempt, each attorney shall complete a minimum of 12 credit hours of approved continuing legal education annually. One (1) hour shall be on the subject of ethics or professionalism.
A minimum of 6 credit hours of the 12 credit hours required annually must be earned through attendance at a live Alabama State Bar approved program.
Does a webcast count towards live CLE credit in Alabama?
Live webcasting counts as live CLE credit in Alabama. This allows you to watch the seminar live from your home or office computer. Webcasts for live credit MUST be watched during the time it is being streamed from the live seminar location.
How many Alabama CLE hours do I currently have?
Member login on the Alabama State Bar website will show your total CLE hours. Click on the credits to get a complete listing.
How can I get certified or recertified as a Guardian ad Litem?
GAL Certification and Recertification is handled by the Administrative Office of Courts (1-866-954-9411). For initial Certification and live programs, please contact the AOC. The annual Recertification course is available through our on-line course catalog. Go to our online course catalog and find the course under the Guardian ad Litem heading. The course is available from early June to early February.
What types of payment do you accept for in-person CLE seminars?
We accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or a check made payable to Cumberland School of Law CLE.
What types of payment do you accept for online CLE?
InReach, our online CLE provider, accepts Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover.
How can I register for in-person CLE seminars?
Online using a credit card or check, go to Schedule of Live Seminars. One seminar registration per credit card transaction. One check can be used to pay for multiple registrations.
Mail a CLE Mail-In Registration Form with payment to Cumberland School of Law CLE, PO Box 293759, Birmingham, AL 35229-3759.
Call our CLE office at 205-726-2391 or 800-888-7454
I registered for the wrong seminar format (in-person vs. webcast), what can I do?
Register for the type of seminar you want and contact our office to request a full refund for the incorrect registration.
What is your cancellation policy for in-person CLE seminars?
Prepaid registration fees will be refunded, upon request, up to 48 hours before the beginning of the seminar. Arrangements for substitutions may be made any time prior to the seminar. Notify us by phone at 205-726-2391 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
How do I get seminar materials?
Advance registrants receive an email confirmation, 48 hours prior to the seminar, which includes course materials. Late or on-site registrants will receive a PDF of course materials at the seminar. Course materials are available for purchase separately if you are unable to attend the seminar.
What about Alabama State Bar ID and other professional credentials as part of registration?
If you have an Alabama State Bar ID number, we advise filling in your number to make sure that your attendance is correctly reported to the Alabama State Bar. If we are reporting for other pre-approved states or other professions, they will be listed on the course descriptions on our website.
I attended one of your seminars. How do I get CLE credit for it with another State Bar?
Cumberland CLE will provide you with a certificate of attendance and an agenda that contains the program schedule and a list of faculty. You may forward this information to the other state bar. Remember, CLE credits awarded in Alabama may not be automatically accepted by other State Bars.