Published on April 11, 2016  
Shores Winners 2016

As a showcase of the Cumberland Moot Court program, the final round of the Janie L. Shores Moot Court Competition was held on Saturday, April 9, during Admitted Student Weekend/Alumni Reunion Weekend. 

The judges selected Andrew Clay as the winner and Adam Hoekenschneider as the runner-up.  Judges included Chief Justice Karon Bowdre ‘81, U.S. Northern District of Alabama, Charlie Shah ‘96, Moot Court National Team Coach, Marion Walker ‘76, Fisher & Phillips LLP, and Mike Gregory ‘98, Dodson Gregory.

The competition is named for Janie L. Shores, the first female justice to serve on the Supreme Court of Alabama who became the first full-time female law faculty member in Alabama when she joined Cumberland School of Law in 1965. The competition is an annual event held in the spring and focuses on sharpening the appellate advocacy skills of second- and third-year law students.

In the Shores competition, participants compete in pairs. They write the argument portion of a brief and argue those issues in front of practicing lawyers and judges who act as appellate court justices.  As teams advance, they argue the opposing side of their issues.

The Henry Upson Sims Executive Moot Court Board would like to thank all of the students who participated in this year's competition, as well as all of the judges who volunteered their time.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.