Published on January 18, 2017  
Law Books

The following Cumberland School of Law students qualified as Scholars of Merit for the Fall 2016 term.  The courses in which the students received this recognition are also listed, as well as the professors who taught the courses in which the students received this recognition.

Kayla Currie (Administrative Law - DeBow)
Tara Hale (Advanced Evidence - McCarthy)
Kriston L. Gifford (Business Organizations - Stone)
Christian C. Feldman (Business Organizations - Stone)
Nathan Murphy (Business Organizations - DeBow)
Garrett L. Hartley (Civil Procedure I - Johnson)
Brenton L. Thompson (Civil Procedure I - Strickland)
Jessica Wolinsky (Civil Procedure I - Ross)
Bianca Svensson (Comparative Civ. Litigation - DeGaris)
Jonathan Griffith (Conflict of Laws - Stoddard)
Ian Green (Conflict of Laws - Stoddard)
Lindsey Catlett (Constitutional Law I - Ross)
Kriston L. (Laney) Gifford (Constitutional Law I - Smolin)
Allison E. Booth (Constitutional Law I - Denning)
Jillianne Pierce (Consumer Protection - Floyd)
Kimberly S. Fasking (Contracts I - Stone)
Brenton L. Thompson (Contracts I - Bishop)
Ranier Park (Contracts I - Bishop)
Garrett Hartley (Contracts I - Walthall)
Victoria Danczyk (Contracts I - Walthall)
Diana N. Ruppenthal (Criminal Law - Goodwin)
Emily Menees (Criminal Law - Davis)
Garrett L. Hartley (Criminal Law - Smolin)
Jorge A. Solis (Criminal Law - Smolin)
Edward Garner (Criminal Procedure I - Davis)
Brittany Bryan (Domestic Relations - Pate)
Gregory S. Ritchey (E-Discovery - Carroll)
Riley Murphy (Employment Discrimination - Greene, D.)
Miya Moore (Employment Discrimination - Greene, D.)
Mary Elizabeth Burnett (Environmental Law - Greene, A.)
Adelaide C. McGraw (Estate and Gift Taxation - Stephens)
Stephen (Kyle) Weaver (Federal Courts, Civil - Johnson)
Lindsey R. Catlett (Federal Income Tax I - Roberts)
Adelaide C. McGraw (Financing Real Prop. Transact. - Byrd)
Nicholas P. Carr (Int'l Environmental Law - Greene, A.)
Sara Leopold (Int'l Intellectual Property - Kuruk)
Allison E. Booth (Juvenile Justice Admin. - Smolin)
David Manush (Labor Law - St. Clair)
LaRae M. Ganger (Municipal Courts - Bishop)
Shannen L. Sell (Negotiation - VanPelt)
Abby Hayley (Non-Profit Corp. - Hogewood)
Christian Borek (Partnership Taxation - Roberts)
Katie Robinson (Payment Systems - Kuruk)
Nicole Henderson (Payment Systems - Floyd)
Jonathan Griffith (Pre-Trial/Trial Prac. - Putnam)
Curtis Seal (Pre-Trial/Trial Prac. - Putnam)
Sarah Emerson (Privacy in the Digital Age - Hartzog)
Kriston L. Gifford (Prof. Responsibilities - Carroll)
Mitchell J. Reilly (Prof. Responsibilities - Ross)
LaRae M. Ganger (Race and American Law - Greene, D.)
Thomas Bailey (Real Estate Trans. I - McCurley)
Matthew Hambrick (Real Estate Trans. I - McCurley)
Jonathan Griffith (Rep. Small Business - Nixon)
Stephen Weaver (Scientific Evidence - Goodwin)
Jason Bruner (Secured Transactions - Kuruk)
Whitney Lamont (Torts - Evans)
Jennifer B. Jayjohn (Torts - Martin)
Emily Hopper (Torts - Hartzog)
William M. Pettit (Torts II - Martin)
Kayla Currie (Wills, Trusts and Estates - DiRusso)
John C. Wilson (Workmen's Compensation - Barineau)

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.