Published on November 5, 2018 by Morgan Black  

Cumberland School of Law's National Trial Team continues its streak of advancing in national trial competitions. Last weekend, at the National Trial Advocacy tournament in Detroit, Michigan, third-year student Kameron Buckner, and second-year students Isabella Colombo, Gavin King, Jake Sauls and Whitney Lott, reached the semi-finals of this national competition. King was awarded best cross-examination for the preliminary rounds. The team was coached by alumni Setara Foster ‘12 and Matt Woodham ‘15. The National Trial Team has placed in three out of the four tournaments entered to date this year. 

Additionally, second-year students Krista James and Blaine Goodwin, and third-year student Isabell Montoya-Minisee, competed in the regional National Appellate Advocacy competition in Montgomery, Alabama over the weekend. This team was coached by alumni Clay Williams ‘99 and Erin Dunagan ‘99. 

Finally, members of the ABA Negotiation Team competed in the ABA Negotiation Competition in Lansing, Michigan this weekend. Cumberland competitors included third-year student Tiffany Jones and second-year students Thomas Thorneycroft  Nolan Herslebs and Carami Garrett, and coaches April Jackson MacLennan ‘14 and Ben Warren ‘18.  

Pictured from left to right are Matt Woodham, Isabella Colombo, Gavin King, Whitney Lott, Jake Sauls and Kameron Buckner.


Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.