Published on August 30, 2020  
Law Books

The following Cumberland School of Law students (bolded) qualified as Scholars of Merit and received the CALI Award for the summer 2020 term. The courses in which the students received this recognition are listed as well as the professors who taught the courses in which the students received this recognition.


Hannah M. Cassady | Wrongful Convictions | Davis, LaJuana

Jose Wellington Costa Neto | Constitutional Law I | Denning, Brannon P.

Anna Alyce Eastburn | Wrongful Convictions | Davis, LaJuana

Blake W. Harper | Economic Analysis of Law | Stone, Ralph Thomas

Palmer A. Mordecai | Legal Process | DeBow, Michael

Savannah M. Nixon | Wills, Trusts, and Estates | DiRusso, Alyssa

 Madison N. Vacarella | Advanced Writing Skills for Lawyers I | Baggett, John Mark


Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.