Published on July 29, 2021 by Morgan Black  
Austin Jacqueline
Jacqueline Austin (center) pictured with J. Pratt Austin-Trucks (L) and Anne Marovich, director of alumni relations (R).

During the 144th Annual Meeting of the Alabama State Bar (ASB) in July 2021, many Cumberland School of Law alumni were awarded or recognized.

Maud McClure Kelly Award

Jacqueline Austin ‘68 received the Maud McClure Kelly Award from the ASB Women’s Section. This trailblazer has built an impressive record of service in her community of Elmore County, Alabama, over the past 52 years and is still going strong.

J. Anthony “Tony” McLain Professionalism Award

LaBella McCallum ‘84 received the J. Anthony “Tony” McLain Professionalism Award. The purpose of the award is to honor the leadership of Tony McLain and to encourage the emulation of his deep devotion to professionalism and service to the ASB by recognizing outstanding, long-term and distinguished service in the advancement of professionalism by living members of the ASB.

Passing the Gavel

Bob Methvin ‘94 passed the gavel to the next president of the state bar. Methvin was the 145th president of the ASB and the seventh Cumberland School of Law alumnus to lead the bar.

Public Interest Lawyer Award

Stephen Rygiel ‘09 received the Public Interest Lawyer Award from the ASB Pro Bono Section. Rygiel is the director of Birmingham Aids Outreach.

Fellows of the Alabama Law Foundation

Cumberland School of Law alumni who were recognized as 2020 Fellows of the Alabama Law Foundation include the Honorable Bob Bailey ‘72, Rodney Nolen ‘74, Ed Jackson ‘76, Ted Stuckenschneider ‘77, the Honorable Brad Mendheim ‘93, Joey Morris ‘94, the Honorable Anne Durward ‘95, and the Honorable Ashby Pate ‘07.

President's Award

The President’s Award is presented to members of the bar who best exemplify the Alabama State Bar motto, “Lawyers Render Service.” The recipients are chosen by the current bar president. Cumberland alumni who received the award this year are Lang Floyd ‘84, Ane Debro ‘94 and Jana Garner ‘97.

Commissioner's Award

This award was created by the Board of Bar Commissioners in 1998 to recognize individuals who have had a long-standing commitment to the improvement of the administration of justice in Alabama. Alumnua Jana Garner ’97 was a recipient of this award.

Janie L. Shores Scholarship Award

Courtney Howard ’21 received the Justice Janie L. Shores Scholarship Award from the ASB Women’s Section. She was presented with the scholarship in the spring and was recognized during July's annual meeting. Read More

Law Firm Pro Bono Award

Currently, there are 47 Cumberland School of Law alumni working at the firm of Carr Allison, and two more will start this fall. This year, Carr Allison was awarded the law firm Pro Bono award from the ASB.

Congratulations to these Cumberland lawyers, and to many others for their service to the Alabama State Bar. Read more about the awards and honors from the 2021 ASB Annual Meeting.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.