Published on May 21, 2020 by Morgan Black  
This year, the Samford University Board of Trustees approved the promotions of two members of the Cumberland School of Law faculty. Ramona Albin and Tracey Roberts have been promoted to associate professor.
Ramona Albin
Albin, director of Cumberland’s advocacy program, teaches evidence and courses relating to criminal law and trial advocacy. She has worked diligently to strengthen the advocacy curriculum, increase support for competition teams and their coaches, and raise the profile of the advocacy program, which is currently ranked 7th nationally by U.S. News & World Report. Under her leadership, Cumberland hosted "Training Advocates Conference 2020: Our Virtual Reality," a national virtual conference for advocacy program directors, competition coaches and faculty. Albin has won the Harvey S. Jackson Award for Excellence in Teaching twice. She serves on Cumberland’s Policy Committee and repeatedly volunteers to complete critical functions. Her latest article, “Appropriating Women’s Thoughts: The Admissibility of Sexual Fantasies and Dreams Under the Consent Exception to Rape Shield Laws,” was recently published by the University of Kansas Law Review.
Photo of Roberts
Roberts teaches a variety of federal taxation courses, real property and environmental law. She is a prolific scholar, publishing multiple book chapters and numerous articles in the nation’s leading law journals, including the Columbia Journal of Environmental Law, the Columbia Journal of Tax Law, the Duke Environmental Law and Policy Forum, Northwestern University Law Review, Washington and Lee Law Review, and more. She is the co-author of Tax Law and the Environment: A Multidisciplinary and Worldwide Perspective, has won the Lightfoot, Franklin & White Faculty Scholarship Award last year, and is a frequent presenter at conferences and law school colloquia. She continues to do important work on law school and university committees, including performing extensive statistical studies for the Academic Standards Committee and helping devise assessment tools for the Assessment Committee.
Congratulations to these professors.