Published on May 6, 2020 by Sara Roman  
Above Beyond 2020
During their annual Above and Beyond Awards Ceremony, the School of Health Professions Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders honored students who went above and beyond in the areas of academics, service and clinical. For the 2020 celebration, more than 150 students, parents and family members, faculty and staff joined virtually to congratulate the award recipients.
"A career in Communication Sciences and Disorders is inherently a service career. The professionals who choose this life are called to a life of caring, using their gifts to better the lives of others,” said Margaret Johnson, professor and Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders chair. “Our innovative degree programs are built on a foundation of rigorous academics, service and leadership and it is an honor to recognize and celebrate the students who have truly gone above and beyond the call.”
Several undergraduate students were recognized with academic and service awards but Lauren Falink, a senior Communication Sciences and Disorders major, received the highest honor, the Undergraduate Leadership Award. This award is given to a student who shows not only leadership but servant leadership. “Our school’s foundational scripture is 1 Peter 4:10 and as a department, we believe in serving others as our gifts and talents allow,” said Johnson.
Senior Communication Sciences and Disorders major, Sydney Kwasigrow was also honored during the ceremony. Kwasigrow was chosen for the 2020 Frances Marlin Mann Center Award based on her strong character and the servant leadership qualities that she exemplifies inside and outside of the classroom.
At the graduate level, master of science in speech language pathology and doctor of audiology students were recognized for their outstanding academic and clinical performance.
Selected from recommendations by their clinical supervisors, Channing Glenn and Rachel Mauldin received the Excellence in Clinical Performance award for the master of science in speech language pathology 2020 cohort. Ashley Priddy and Abi Way were selected for the award from the 2021 cohort. From the doctor of audiology program, Alison Johnson was selected for the award.
Perhaps the highest honor awards are the Spirit of Speech Language Pathology Award and Spirit of Audiology Award. These award recipients are selected by their peers. When asked “who of your peers would you most like to care for you or a family member?” the students selected Ansley Maness from the speech language pathology program and Jori Childs from the audiology program.
“We are thrilled to see where our class of 2020 will go next,” said Johnson. “We know the Lord has a plan. He knows where each of our graduates will be and who they will serve and we know that they will serve them well.”
Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.