Published on April 28, 2023 by Emily Naubert  
nutrition awards students
From left, Katie Hynekamp, Eliza Burnham, Tommye Alaniz and Aimee Metzger were among the numerous nutrition and dietetics students recognized at a Department of Nutrition and Dietetics awards ceremony in March.

Samford’s School of Public Health honored more than 45 nutrition and dietetics students at a special ceremony March 30. 

Suresh Mathews, professor and chair for the School of Public Health’s Department of Nutrition and Dietetics, said, “The ceremony was special because we were celebrating the academic achievements of our students and student organizations. Our students worked hard all year long. Not only did they succeed academically, but they also put in hours of service to the community and profession.”

 Samford’s nutrition and dietetics undergraduates have an outstanding achievement of a 100% three-year pass rate in the national-level registered dietitian exam. Furthermore, Samford's Student Dietetic Association has been awarded the Best Students Dietetic Association award for 13 out of the past 17 years, a testament to the students’ dedication and hard work. 

 The following students have received cords for earning a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or higher and at least 12 GPA hours:

 Sophia Doty, Kayleigh Grant, Avery Hemphill and Louisa Wright were among the freshmen who received the blue honor cord.

 Macy Thompson and Charlotte Lackey were among the sophomores who received the white honor cord.

 Sara Grace Clark, Lauren Gring and Chloe Johnson were among the juniors who received the red honor cord.

 Eliza Burnham, Clara Groves, Whitney Hebert, Katie Hynekamp, Kaleigh McFadden, Morgan McGehee, Tess McNeal and Mary Simmons were among the seniors who received the tri-color honor cord.

 Tommye Alaniz, Ginnalee Betsill, Allie Harbison, Kathryn Ingle, Ann McIntosh, Aimee Metzger, Katherine Strozier and Kaitlyn Weldy were the recipients of the Class Honor Award Certificates.

 Aimee Metzger, Tommye Alaniz, Eliza Burnham, Ann McIntosh and Katie Hynekamp were among the seniors who were recognized with Senior Awards for their exceptional work.  

In addition, several scholarship awards were presented to students. Samuel McWhirter received the Nutrition and Dietetics Department Scholarship. Kaleigh McFadden received the Particia H. Terry Endowed Scholarship. Kayleigh Grant received the Linda Godfrey Endowed Scholarship. Brooke Ramsey received the Donna Robuck Seibels Scholarship. Amanda Gibbons received the Nutrition and Dietetics Department Dietetic Internship Scholarship. K’dayjah Council received the Miriam J. Gaines Dietetic Internship Scholarship. 

For more information on Samford’s Department of Nutrition and Dietetics, visit here.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.