In 2015, in celebration of its 100th anniversary, the Orlean Beeson School of Education established the Learning for Life Award to honor outstanding education alumni that have made a significant impact in the lives of others.

The mission of the education school is to, “enrich the community and empower its students to educate, lead, and serve.” Additionally, one of the school’s core values is that learning is a life-long commitment. Two statements that the Learning for Life Award celebrates and chosen honorees emulate.

Although their career paths may be different, recipients are all similar in the way that they have made a notable influence in their respective fields of study, in their local communities and the world. We are proud of the different ways that our education graduates impact our world for Christ.

If you know an Orlean Beeson School of Education graduate who excels in his or her career and/or makes a significant impact in the lives of others, we encourage you to nominate them for the 2019 Learning for Life Awards. Nominations will stay open for your convenience throughout the year but will close on May 15 for each current year’s event.  Nominations that come in after May 15 will be saved for the following calendar year.

Nominate Purchase Tickets

We encourage you to consider making a tribute gift to Orlean Beeson School of Education in honor of one of the Learning for Life Award recipients or in honor (or memory) of someone who has been most influential in your own educational experience. 

Give Tribute Gift

Previous Learning for Life Honorees

2019 Learning for Life Honorees

Mary Wyatt Crenshaw - 2000
Heather Hurt - 2013
Alice Laurendine - 1995, 2001
John Lowry - 2014
Renee Pitts - 1995, 1998
Chandra Sparks Splond - 2017
Pat Wingfield - 1966

2018 Learning for Life Honorees

Meghan Allen - 2009
Chelsea Byrd - 2011, 2017
Jennifer Carter - 1996
Lauren Dunnam - 2009, 2011
Justin Hefner - 2014, 2016, 2018
Matthew Kiser - 2016
Jennifer Jackson - 1990
Maggie Lawrence - 2010
Loretta Rowan - 1971, 1991
Jeremy Sandefur - 2007
Marla Vaughn - 2007, 2009
Jewel Littleton-Williams - 2005, 2010
Bet Wright - 1994
Sarah Young - 2001

2017 Learning for Life Honorees

Kathy Acton - 1980
Dr. Lewis Brooks - 2010
Argie Campbell - 2010
Marisa Sterling Dempsey - 1999
Sherri Foyt - 1990
Dr. Emily Freeland - 2013
Dana Mungenast - 1993
Erin Cheek Robbins - 1998
Felicia Allen Smith - 1992, 2001
Dr. Shelly Vail-Smith - 1991, 2001, 2002

2015 Learning for Life Honorees

Kelly AllingBuddy AndersonSuzan ArmstrongLinda Bachus
Mary Sue BaldwinWalter BarnesBrian Bauman
Morcease BeasleyLisa Beckham
Marissa BenjaminKaren BirkenfeldBonnie BoldingBobby Bowden
Betsy BoxKatrina BrownTyler Burgess
Daphne CarrNita Carr
Jennifer CarrollSonia CarringtonAmanda Cavin
Patrick ChappellGwen ChildsKara ChismLindy Cleveland
William ClevelandTyler CoffeyDennis Conner
Joseph ConnickJanet CumbeeRobin Duncan
Holly DymondShirley GarrettHeather Gassner
Anita GayRalph GoldHilton Green
John GreenNorma GreenRachel Gregory
Elizabeth HaganCharolette HambyJulie Hannah
John HaywoodAlvin Hines, IISarah Hines
Amy HoaglundLea Hoppe
Sherri HuffEden HutchinsJennifer JohnstonAnn Jones
Devyn KeithLyssette KennemoreEvelyn KernachanSuzanne LaceyMarkanne LarbergPhil Lazenby
Brian LindseyKelsey LoganCaroline Love
Kevin MaddoxCathlena MartinJack McGill
Carol McArthurAnn McInvaleTaylor Milburn
Josna MishraShelly MizeMaryAnn Moon
Bob NewtonJodi NewtonMarianne Pearce
Perry PhillipsLily PortlockCraig Pouncey
Ryan RainerMark RichardsonWayne Richarson
Chris RobbinsBetsy RogersJordan Sanders
Chuck SandsDavid SaundersJimmy Shaw
Patricia SimpsonChristen SloderbeckPamela Smith
Barbara SnyderMandy Jayne StanleyAnne Stone
Regina ThompsonGwendolyn Tilghman
Leah Treadwell
James WardDorothy WestbrockKaren Westbrook
Jane WeygandAnne WhirleyJohn Whirley
Trudy WhiteVic WilsonMary Wyatt
Frank Adams, Sr.John ArmstrongEulette Carter
Raymond ChristianMaralyn ChristianMartha Cox
Pearl CranfordArthur DennisDorothy Donovan
Mae FlyntWynema LowryFelix Moore
Frances StoneHazel StricklandAnnie Garner