Published on November 20, 2019 by Katie Stripling  

Anna McEwan, Ph.D., has been named dean of Samford University’s Orlean Beeson School of Education effective Jan. 2, 2020. McEwan, an accomplished administrator and educator, currently serves as provost, dean and acting chair of the Department of Teacher Education at Huntingdon College in Montgomery, Alabama.

“We are blessed that Samford’s nationwide search not only brought us a highly-qualified Christian scholar, but an individual with extensive experience in meeting education needs in our state,” said Samford Provost J. Michael Hardin.

Prior to joining Huntingdon College in 2017, McEwan served for nine years as dean of the College of Education at the University of Montevallo. Before that time, she served as professor and elementary program coordinator at Kentucky’s Asbury University and assistant professor and graduate program coordinator at Columbia College in South Carolina.

McEwan earned her Ph.D. in elementary education at Florida State University, her M.A. in elementary education (educational administration concentration) at the University of West Florida and her B.A. in elementary education at Asbury University. Her long list of accomplishments includes authoring self-study reports and managing site visits for two successful NCATE-CAEP accreditation processes for teacher education, redesigning general education and educational program assessment systems for two institutions, increasing faculty and staff diversity at two institutions and many other important initiatives. Her CV includes an impressive list of scholarly publications and presentations.

“I am thrilled to join the Orlean Beeson School of Education family in the new year as we write our next chapter,” said McEwan. “How reassuring it is to know that God’s hand covers our own as we put pen to paper and our dreams become realities.”

Orlean Beeson School of Education enriches the community and empowers its students to educate, lead and serve. Degree programs are offered at the bachelor's, master's, specialist and doctoral levels.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.