Published on April 19, 2023 by Kameron Brown  
2023 Awards Ceremony Recipients DR04122023139

Samford University’s Orlean Beeson School of Education hosted its annual awards ceremony on April 12 to recognize the many accomplishments of its students. This year marked the second time all three departments housed in Orlean Bullard Beeson Hall were recognized in one event.

Students from Human Development and Family Science, Teacher Education and Educational Leadership attended to receive awards honoring academic excellence, character excellence, and to receive several scholarships that also affirm these qualities.

“Our graduates lead classrooms, direct schools, advocate for families, conduct research, serve organizations, and implement positive change across the country and around the world. The students we honor are those who meet and exceed our expectations,” said Anna McEwan, dean of Orlean Beeson School of Education.

Donors who have faithfully given and worked to endow scholarships for the betterment of Samford and of the lives of students were also in attendance. Three new scholarships to the School of Education were presented at the awards ceremony.

The Mary Elizabeth Wyatt scholarship was established in honor of the late Mary Wyatt. Wyatt was a retired educator, an alumna of Orlean Beeson School of Education and immediate past chair and member of its Dean’s Advisory Board. While hospitalized for what would be a fatal stroke, Wyatt formalized one of her last wishes: to establish the scholarship as an investment in the next generation of Samford students. The Mary Elizabeth Wyatt scholarship is awarded to a student who is starting their junior year at Samford and is a registered, declared student in Orlean Beeson School of Education. Scholarship recipients should exhibit Christ-centered character; show evidence of propensity for leadership; exemplify Samford’s motto of For God, for learning, forever; earn at least a 3.0 academic average in their coursework at Samford; and demonstrate financial need. The first recipient of this scholarship is Haley Galbreath.

The David Finn Legacy scholarship was established by Dr. Alyssa Barnes to honor her beloved professor and mentor and pay forward the opportunities she received as a Samford student. Dr. Finn taught in the Department of Teacher Education in Orlean Beeson School of Education for 24 years and retired in April 2022. During his time at Samford, he was instrumental in the development of a special education degree program and inspired and touched the lives of countless students. The scholarship is awarded to undergraduate students studying within the Department of Teacher Education with demonstrated financial need. Preference is given to those who have a passion for teaching special education and wish to travel abroad as part of their Samford experience. The first recipient of this scholarship is Carson Osborne.

The Carter Family Legacy scholarship was established to honor the many contributions made by the Carters to Orlean Beeson School of Education. The scholarship is awarded based on both merit and financial need to a student who is studying elementary education with a Christian education and missions concentration, with preference given to rising juniors and seniors. The first recipient of this scholarship is Maggie Johnson.

To learn more about scholarships and how you can give to support the lives of students at Orlean Beeson School of Education, please visit our giving page.

Award Ceremony Program

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.