Published on June 13, 2013  

Samford’s Classics Department presented its annual student honors in spring, 2013.

Awards included:

Wheeler Scholarship Medal for First Year with Honors
Sam Hahn

Seal Scholarship Medal for Second Year with Honors
Andrew Bennett

Tower Scholarship Medal for Third Year with Honors
Joy Berkhouse
Mary Katherine Jorgensen

Howard Scholarship Medal for Fourth Year with Honors
Courtney Phares
Nathan Smolin
Susannah Walters
Becca Wiggins

Latin Awards
Elementary: Stephen Lavett
Intermediate: Chris Taunton
Advanced: Becca Wiggins

Greek Awards
Elementary: Rachel Ray
Intermediate: Joy Berkhouse
Advanced: Mary Katherine Jorgensen

Philology Award (outstanding in both upper-level Greek and Latin)
Nathan Smolin

Classics 200 Spirit of Schleimann Award
Sam Hahn
Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 1st nationally for student engagement and U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 37th in the nation for best undergraduate teaching and 97th nationally for best value. Samford enrolls 5,758 students from 48 states and 22 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference, and ranks 3rd nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.