Published on March 26, 2013  

Howard College of Arts and Sciences students Rebekah Brooks, Hannah Chappell, Jason Goebel and Christina Rickman won top research honors at the 90th annual meeting of the Alabama Academy of Science on the university’s campus March 20-22. All four take part in Samford's Clark Scholars Program in Computational Biology.

Brooks won first place in the undergraduate chemistry category for “Synthesis and Computational Investigation of 2nd-Generation Beta-Secretase Inhibitors,” a poster describing her research with Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry professor Andy Lampkins and department chair Morgan Ponder.

Goebel and Rickman won second place in the same category with a related project, “Exploring the Utility of Novel Amino Acid-Derived Chirons; Toward the Synthesis of (-) Galantinic Acid and “Smart” Therapeutics,” also completed with Lampkins.Doctors Howell and Chapman at AAS

Chappell won first place presented in the Industry Environmental and Earth Science division for her talk on "Bioremediation technology using fungi to remove trace level pharmaceuticals (17a-ethinylestradiol) from wastewater.” Chapell, mentored by Chemistry and Biochemistry professor Denise Gregory, will present the work again at the national meeting of the American Chemical Society in New Orleans in April.

Approximately 300 faculty, undergraduate and graduate students took part in the AAS meeting this year. Biological and Environmental Sciences professor Larry Davenport delivered the keynote address at the conference banquet, and many other Samford faculty presented their research at AAS 2013, including:

Biological and Environmental Science
Kristin Bakkegard
Betsy Dobbins
Malia Fincher (Kaitlyn Schaaf, student)Students at AAS
David Frings
Grant GentryGrant Gentry with poster presentation
Mike Howell
Ron Hunsinger
Dave Johnson
George Keller
Jenny Layton

Chemistry and Biochemistry
Denise Gregory
Andy Lampkins
Morgan Ponder

Dennis Sansom

Theresa Davidson

Journalism and Mass Communication
Lee Farquhar

 Samford biology professors at AAS  Larry Davenport behind the podium at AAS meeting
Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.