Published on April 29, 2011  

Eleven Samford students were honored as a Distinguished Delegation during the 2011 National Model United Nations conference in New York City April 19-23.

During closing ceremonies at the United Nations, Head Delegate Kathleen Artman and delegates Devon Arnold, Gabriella Cappo, Jayme Cloninger, Thomas Espy, Surf Kirubel, Andrew Mays, Sam McFarland, Caroline Noland, Mary Evelyn Todd and Amy Vu were honored for their representation of the Republic of Burundi.

Political Science professor and Interim Model UN Advisor Marissa Grayson said the

Distinguished Delegation award recognizes the top 40 universities at a conference comprised of over 200 universities and 3000 students from five continents. 

"I am very proud of how hard the members of the Model UN team worked to prepare for the conference and the effort they put in to representing Samford and the country of Burundi at the conference," Grayson said. "I truly believe the confidence, critical thinking and public speaking skills students learn from an activity like Model UN will benefit them throughout life."

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.