Published on May 2, 2019 by Sean Flynt  
HCAS Awards 2019
Brad Busbee, Marissa Grayson and Dennis Sansom were honored May 2

Samford University’s Howard College of Arts and Sciences presented three annual awards at the year’s final faculty assembly May 2.

Political science professor Marissa Grayson earned the college’s Advising Award for what presenter Clay Carey–the 2018 honoree–described as the “care, thoughtfulness and thoroughness” with which she advises more than 40 students, many of whom come to her department from other divisions and need extra attention to navigate that significant change. Students Madeline Sparks, Jordan Weaver and Rick Charles were on hand to honor their advisor. In announcing the award, Sparks said Grayson’s impact on her has been profound, due in part to Grayson’s dedication to helping her understand and consider all her academic options.

Dean Tim Hall announced the college’s Teaching Award and Scholarship Award.

Hall said Philosophy Department chair Dennis Sansom exemplifies the Teaching Award through his deep care for students over a long Samford career. Hall noted that he has often been with Sansom when former students approach their professor to describe his impact on their lives, and to thank him for his teaching.

English Department Chair Brad Busbee earned the Scholarship Award for his impressive record of recent years. In addition to his service as chair and member of many committees, Hall said, Busbee has published a book and numerous articles, coedited one academic journal and sat on the editorial board of two others, presented many conference lectures and organized an international conference on Danish scholar Nicolai Frederik Severin Grundtvig in 2018.