Published on May 20, 2020 by Sean Flynt  
The seal of Samford University
The seal of Samford University

Samford University’s History Department presented its annual academic honors at the conclusion of the disrupted 2020 spring semester.

University Academic Honors

Honors Certificates (overall GPA of at least 3.5)
Adam Carr Mallory McKinnon
Earle Glascock Anna Beth Mason
Robert Hancock Robbie Nikont
Maddie Hixson Noah Stewart
Tim Larsen Holly Vlach

Wheeler Medal (GPA of 3.75 or above for the first time)
Meredith Bennett and Cole Foreman

Seal Medal (GPA of 3.75 or above for the second time)
Caroline Bass, Mary Blake Brock, Mica Chesshir, and Livi White

Tower Medal (3.75 or above GPA for 63- 95 credit hours)
Katie Graham, David King, Max Lattermann, George Sarris, Sarah Schansberg, and Mollie Smith

Howard Medal (3.75 or higher GPA for at least 96 credit hours)
Hannah Atchley, Sam Bartz, Drayton Cullen, Melanie Hancock, Caroline Larry, and Max Willinger

History Department Honors

Shae Corey earned the Christina Mosley Award, given annually to a senior who best exemplifies the contagious spirit of Christina Mosley (Furr) ’08.

Max Lattermann and Max Willinger earned the William Pratt Dale Award, given annually to a junior or senior who shows determination, hard work, and Christian service, in honor of a beloved former professor.

Sarah Schansberg earned the Mitchell B. Garrett Alumni Award, given annually to a junior who exhibits independence, leadership, and initiative, in honor Samford’s first History Department chair.

Sam Bartz earned the Elizabeth C. Wells Award, given annually to a junior or senior who is a passionate learner engaged in the highest caliber of service to the university and/or the community, in honor of the long-time head of Special Collection and the University Archives.

Drayton Cullen and Emily Thorington earned the David M. Vess Award, given annually to a senior who exhibits Christian character, civic virtue, and steadfast compassion, in honor of the alumnus and former History Department chair.

Holly Vlach earned the Marlene Rikard Award, given annually to a senior who exhibits determination, intellectual curiosity and outstanding scholarship, in honor of the longtime history professor and founder of the Samford In London program.

Melanie Hancock earned the Phi Alpha Theta Award, given annually to the senior with the highest GPA, in honor of former History Department chair George V. Irons.

The department also recognized students who earned American Independence Awards this spring.

Class of 2020 History Majors and Minors

Sam Bartz
Bailey Cates
Drayton Cullen
R.M. English
Noel Espinal
Melanie Hancock
Ben Hewitt
Alyssa Kuhnel
Caroline Larry
Toliver Myers
Robbie Nikont
Sarah Poe
Nathan Saab
Sarah Sharpton
Teighan Smith
Emily Thorington
Stephen Todd
Holly Vlach
Kati Wheeler
Charlotte Williams
Jake Williams
Moriah Windus
Trenton Hannah (F20)
Mike Williams (F20)
Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.