Published on May 5, 2020 by Sean Flynt  
The seal of Samford University
The seal of Samford University

Samford University’s journalism and mass communication program announced its annual academic honors at the end of the disrupted spring 2020 semester. The extensive list included:

Highest GPA
Senior–Rachel Pruett
Junior–Megan Herndon
Sophomore–Gabby Bass & Selah Vetter
Freshman–Corinne McCaw

Brick Awards
Anna Bain
Stephen DeFrancesco
Daniel Dodson
Remy Garfield
Courtney Johnson
Armond Lloyd
Katie Roth
Griffin Schou
Jarece Tillery
Joy Grace Webb

Top of The Track
Outstanding Entre Nous Staff Member–Katie Roth
Outstanding Crimson Staff Member–Daniel Dodson
Outstanding Film Production Minor Student–Ethan Sanders
Outstanding Sport Media Minor Student–Joy Grace Webb
Outstanding Print Journalism Student–William Marlow
Outstanding Broadcasting Student–Noél Espinal
Outstanding Public Relations Student–Shelly Fulks
Outstanding Advertising Student–Abigail Fink
Overall Outstanding JMC Student–Page Secreast

Kappa Tau Alpha
Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) Honor Society recognizes academic excellence and promotes scholarship in journalism and mass communication. Those who are eligible must have completed at least five semesters of academic work towards a degree in journalism and mass communication and have a GPA in the top 10 percent of their class.

2020 KTA Top Scholar (graduating senior with highest overall GPA)–Rachel Pruett
Current KTA Members
Shelly Glenn Fulks
Lilly Kate Hollis
Elizabeth Alden Pridgeon            
Rachel Lauren Pruett
John Griffin Shou
Julianne Smith
Joy Grace Webb
2020 KTA Inductees
Kaitlyn Baker
Chad Jordan
Taylor Korte
Gunnar Sadowey
Olivia Michele Stein
Aubrie Strange

Harold & Jean Martin Writing Award Winners
William Marlow (first place)
Katie Roth (second place) 
Gunnar Sadowey and Selah Vetter (tie, third place)
Broadcast–Joy Grace Webb (first place)

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.