Published on May 5, 2021 by Sean Flynt  
The seal of Samford University
The seal of Samford University

The Department of Communication and Media congratulates the recipients of its 2021 student honors!

Outstanding JMC Student
Aubrie Strange

Outstanding Communication Studies Student
Abby Lawson

Outstanding Advertising Track Student
Olivia Stein

Outstanding Broadcast Track Student
Ryan Ivey

Outstanding Print Track Student
Kaitlyn Baker

Outstanding Public Relations Track Student
Hope Dawson

Outstanding Sports Media Student
Rachael Hamilton

Outstanding Film Production Student
Camille Womack

Outstanding Crimson Staff Member
Gunnar Sadowey

Outstanding Entre Nous Staff Member
Elizabeth Pridgeon

Harold & Jean Martin Writing Award – Broadcast Category
First Place: Katy Beth Boyers

Harold & Jean Martin Writing Award – Print/Digital Category
First Place: Kaitlyn Baker
Second Place (tie): Claire Pool and Selah Vetter
Third Place (tie): Moriah Mason and Gunnar Sadowey

Scholastic Awards
Freshman: Anna Baldwin, Ann Lagarde, Juliana Mink, 
Sophomore: Josiah Cotton, Virginia Henderson, Emily Jimenez, Corinne McCaw
Junior: Gabby Bass
Senior: Meg Herndon

Kappa Tau Alpha
Kappa Tau Alpha honor society recognizes academic excellence and promotes scholarship in Journalism and Mass Communication. Those who are eligible must have completed at least five semesters of academic work towards a degree in journalism and mass communication and have a GPA in the top 10% of their class.  
 Current Members
Kaitlyn Baker
Lilly Kate Hollis
Elizabeth Alden Pridgeon  
 2021 Inductees
Gabby Bass
Finlay Coupland
Meg Herndon
Chad Jordan
Taylor Korte
Gunnar Sadowey
Olivia Michele Stein
Aubrie Strange
Blair Thornton
Anna Legan West
KTA also recognizes the top scholar in each graduation class—the graduating senior with the highest overall GPA. 
2021 KTA Top Scholar
Meg Herndon

Lamda Pi Eta
Lamda Pi Eta is the National Communication Association's official honor society. Student membership requires a 3.0 cumulative GPA with 60 semester or 90 quarter credit hours completed, and a 3.25 GPA for Communication Studies courses with 12 semester or 18 quarter credit hours completed.
2021 – 2022 Officers
President: Josh Orr
Vice-President: Laura Lee Caum 
Treasurer: John Cody Petitfils
Secretary: Olivia Flint 
2021 Inductees
Abigail Anderson
Graham Averitt
Laura Lee Caum
Delaney Dotson
Olivia Flint
Jesse Henderson
Sage O. Jenne
Rylee Jones
Tyler Kendall
Stu Marshburn
Joshua Orr
Ashley Parsons
John Cody Petitfils
Kelsey Richardson
Payton Richardson
Taylor Riddle
Megan Roberts
Jarece Tillery
Brittany Ward

People’s Choice Senior Workshop in Communication Studies
“Lending a Hand in Resilience”–Rylee Jones, Ashley Parsons, Taylor Riddle, Lyric Welty and Megan West.
Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.