Published on March 17, 2021 by Sean Flynt  
The seal of Samford University
The seal of Samford University

Sixteen Samford University political science students have been accepted into the Pi Sigma Alpha national political science honor society. In accordance with the organization’s purpose of recognizing and promoting high academic achievement in the field of political science, the Samford students have completed ten semester-credits in political science, including at least one upper-division course, with an average grade of B or higher in all political science courses, and an overall GPA placing the student in the top one-third of his or her class.

The Samford group includes:
Caroline Coleman
Jonah Cleveland
Annie Demeter
Megan Dickey
Alyssa Gregory
Will Layton
Sadie Odom
Ann Parker
Natalie Phillips
Olivia Victoria Pride
Kaitlyn Rowe
Savannah Shirley
Benjamin Sinex
Emma Todd
Anna Vance
Jacquelyn Williams

The Political Science Department will host a formal induction ceremony later in the spring semester.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.