Published on April 5, 2022 by Department of Mathematics and Computer Science  
Math and computer science seniors
Math and computer science seniors

Samford University’s Department of Mathematics and Computer Science hosted its end-of-year Celebration Dinner March 31, and honored graduating seniors, department award winners, math honor society inductees, and students receiving Samford cords and certificates. Attendees also heard an inspirational message from Samford alumna Margaret Grogan '16, who received her Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Tennessee and is now an assistant professor at the United States Military Academy at West Point.

The event was planned and executed by Maureen Erb (administrative assistant for the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science) and Chad Awtrey (professor and chair of the department). Awtrey spoke highly of the event, saying, "The evening was everything you could hope for in a department celebration. Not only were we able to honor and recognize the outstanding work of our current students, we also heard an encouraging and important message from one of our graduates. Dr. Grogan spoke about her journey as a student-athlete and the physical and emotional challenges she faced along the way. In her powerful reflection, she highlighted the importance of gaining God's perspective on life, demonstrating for the audience how her struggles actually served as strategic experiences to prepare her for each next step in her journey."

Graduating seniors included:

  • Math Majors - Connor Biggio, Lauren Frank, Abby Hanby and Caitlin Seeley
  • Computer Science Majors - Ty Boles, Alan Crisologo, Sawyer Emerson, Will Harper, Max Lattermann, Nicholas Lavett, Ian Robinson and Nolan Waldschmidt
  • Math and Computer Science Double Majors - Mary Stirling Brown, James Harrison and Matthew Lad

Departmental Awards included

  • Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mathematics and Computer Science - Mary Stirling Brown
  • Emerging Mathematician Award - Kendall Bearden, Gwynnie Hornibrook, Callie Ware, Sarah Westmoreland
  • Outstanding Senior in Computer Science Award - Alan Crisologo, Max Latterman
  • Emerging Computer Scientist Award - Merritt Cahoon, Andrew DeSimone, Bailey Holland, Cooper Sullivan
  • Foreman Competition Awards - 1st place team: James Harrison and Thomas Reinke; 2nd place team: Bailey Holland and Sarah Westmoreland

Alabama Gamma chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon math honor society inductees included:

  • Brayden Banner, Mary Stirling Brown, Merritt Cahoon, Houston Givhan, James Harrison, Matthew Lad, Madelyn Mixon, Zach Overton, Kelly Roberts, Callie Ware and Sarah Westmoreland.

Samford academic honors included:

  • Certificate recipients - Brittney Adams, James Harrison, Jaden Langford, Andrew Middleton, Zach Overton, Thomas Reinke, Ian Robinson, Emily Rouse, Greta Schwarz and Hannah Schwarz
  • Cord recipients - Kendall Bearden, Brittany Bishop, Tyrone Boles, Mary Brown, Merritt Cahoon, Alan Crisologo, Andrew DeSimone, Sawyer Emerson, Abigail Hanby, Bailey Holland, Gwynnie Hornibrook, Sam Johnson, Matthew Lad, Max Lattermann, Nicholas Lavett, Dylan Lee, Madelyn Mixon, Jake Moultrie, Madison Pridgen, Caitlin Seeley, John Sullivan, Thomas Walker, Callie Ware, Sarah Westmoreland and Lauren Winslett
Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.