Published on May 12, 2021 by Sean Flynt  
The seal of Samford University
The seal of Samford University

Samford University’s Department of World Languages and Cultures (WLAC) presented its annual student honors in April, with department chair Grant Henley presiding over the combined in-person and online ceremony. The 2020-21 WLAC student honors included:

Wheeler Hawley Awards for Excellence

300 Level: Sherri Burgess  (presented by Mary McCullough)

300 Level: Ethan Byrd (presented by Grant Henley)
400 Level: Nick Tatum  (presented by Angela Ferguson

300 Level: Erica Bradley  (presented by Charley Workman)
400 Level: Baylee Vargo (presented by Kelly Jensen)

Critical Languages (presented by Heather West)
(Chinese 206) Meredith Pepin
(Japanese 206) Ying Zou


Thomas Hines/Wheeler Hawley Junior Scholarship in French
Catherine Dodd (presented by Heather West)

Wheeler Hawley Junior Scholarship in German
McKenzie Glaze (presented by Angela Ferguson)

Hilda Hicks Scholarship in German Studies
Riis Wilson (presented by Grant Henley)

Grace Hicks Ezell Junior Scholarship in Spanish
Lacey Spear (presented by Joanna Bradley)

National Collegiate Honor Societies

Delta Phi Alpha German Honor Society (presented by Angela Ferguson)
Kathleen Elizabeth Bass
McKenzie Lee Glaze
Joshua Lawrence Marvel
Peyton Jessica Smith
Nicholas Clark Tatum
Riis Norman Wilson

Sigma Delta Pi Spanish Honor Society (presented by Dieter Waldvogel)
Taryn Adams
Rachel Beaver
Abigail Bradford
Erica Bradley
Adam Carr
Claire Scott
Justin Cox
Bailey Deavers
Annie Demeter
Davis Ennis
Katie Estes
Michayla Hebert
Anna Johnston
Lauren Molander
Shelby Parker
Averie Plugge
Payton Rackley
Megan Roberts
Savannah Shirley
Lacey Spear
Baylee Vargo
Sarah Westmoreland
Amy Wolverton
Julie Young


Class Honors (presented by Mary McCullough)
Sheryl Mariela Garcia-Aguilar
Riis Norman Wilson
Ashton Taylor Geary
Madison B. Goldberg

Highest Class Honors
Laura Nicole Aughtman
Amelia Grace Chavez
Erica Morgan Bradley
Catherine Fowlkes Dodd
Lauren Catherine Molander
Baylee Lynn Vargo

Graduating World Languages Seniors

Hannah Elyse Atchley

Elyssa Marie Moore
Sarah Katherine Dotson
Claire Elizabeth Scott
Baylee Lynn Vargo

Language and World Trade
Ashton Taylor Geary (Spanish)