Published on November 9, 2017Consecrated as a place of worship in 1995, Hodges Chapel is named in honor of Ralph W. Beeson's close friend Andrew Gerow Hodges. Hodges, a 1942 Howard College graduate, served as chairman of Samford's board of trustees. He received a Bronze Star for his actions during World War II that resulted in the release of 149 Allied prisoners of war. As a center of worship, praise and spiritual formation, Hodges Chapel is symbolic of the unique mission of Beeson Divinity School. Listen to Timothy George, dean of Beeson Divinity School, recount his calling to serve as the founding dean.
|Interviewee||Major Harwell G. Davis|
|Repository||Samford University Oral History Collection|
|Collection||University Library, Special Collection and University Archives|