Published on February 17, 2020 by Sean Flynt  
SEJC 2020
Samford was represented at SEJC by (L-R) William Marlow, Griffin Schou, Katie Roth, Noél Espinal and Moriah Mason.

Samford University journalism students earned top honors at the Southeast Journalism Conference (SEJC) at the University of Southern Mississippi Feb. 13-15.

The awards included first place in the categories of College Paper (The Samford Crimson,) College Journalist (William Marlow) and Research Paper (Why Do You Think They Call It War?: New York Times Coverage of Government Discussion of Narcotics during the Vietnam War, by Griffin Schou).
Other Samford honors included:
Second Place, Television News Feature Reporter– Noel Espinal
Third Place, Magazine–The Local
Third Place, Press Photographer–Emily Frazier
Third Place, Magazine Writer–Katie Roth
Third Place, News/Feature Photography–Katie Roth
Eighth Place, Opinion Writer– Hannah Hutson
Tenth Place, Feature Writer–Kathryn Jordan
“These honors are a testament to the talent and diligence of Samford's student journalists and to the excellent work that Ana Good does as supervisor to the Crimson staff,” said Geoff Wright, interim chair of the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication and Communication Studies.
Established in 1915, Samford’s journalism program is the oldest in the region and, for the fifth consecutive year, the top journalism program in Alabama.

Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. Samford enrolls 5,791 students from 49 states, Puerto Rico and 16 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference and ranks 6th nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.