Maisha Kelly  Freeman
Professor and Director, Center for Healthcare Innovation and Patient Outcomes Research
McWhorter School of Pharmacy
Department of Pharmacy Practice
Office: CHS Building 1 1440
Phone: 205-726-4175
Since deciding to come to Samford University 10 years ago, Maisha Freeman has no regrets. "When I was searching for a position in academia, I wanted to pursue a service-oriented institution," she said. "Due to Samford’s commitment to pursing me and their interest in my development, I chose to come here. Since making that decision, I have not looked back and found that it has been one of the best decisions that I ever made. My presence at Samford has allowed me to give back in areas that I would not have dreamed of before." Since joining the McWhorter School of Pharmacy faculty, Freeman has secured a grant for the school. In her free time, she loves to do science experiments with her children.

Degrees and Certifications

  • Pharm.D., with honors, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Drug Information Practice Residency (ASHP-Accredited), University of Maryland School of Pharmacy
  • M.S., pharmacy, applied pharmacoeconomics track, University of Florida
  • B.S., chemistry, Winston-Salem State University
  • Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist


  • Pharmacoeconomics, outcomes research, cultural competence, and drug information

Awards and Honors

  • American Society of Consultant Pharmacists, fellow, 2011–present
  • Alumni Achiever Award, Winston-Salem State University, 2012
  • Winston-Salem State University 40 Under 40 Award, 2013
  • McWhorter School of Pharmacy Scholar Award, 2011
  • McWhorter School of Pharmacy Distinguished Scholar Award, 2013


  • American Society of Consultant Pharmacists, 2011-present
  • International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research, 2010-present
  • American Medical Writer’s Association, 2008-present
  • American College of Clinical Pharmacists, 2002-present
  • American Society of Consultant Pharmacists, 2011-present
  • American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, 2000-present