Identity and Statement of Purpose

Samford University recognizes and celebrates the tremendous talents, skills and abilities of its faculty body. The Samford University Faculty Success Collaborative (FSC) is a formal advisory committee convened by the provost representing all academic units at Samford University, that identifies and coordinates development opportunities in conjunction with a variety of internal and external stakeholder groups.  Faculty success and continuing professional development is internally driven by the FSC through a process that is responsive to emerging trends and opportunities in higher education.  The FSC fully embraces the developmental needs of all faculty in the three domains of a faculty member’s roles and responsibilities as it pertains to teaching, service, and scholarship, as well as personal wellbeing.  Face-to-face programming, enduring content and other resources are provided to support faculty at all stages of their career.  


Enhance the educational mission of Samford University through professional development experiences that encourage excellence in teaching, scholarship and service. 


  • Promote evidence-based activities that help faculty improve student learning, engagement, and success
  • Initiate and sustain a collegial conversation about all aspects of teaching service, scholarship, and learning at Samford
  • Foster a culture of reflective practice that values quality, innovation, and inclusiveness in teaching
  • Cultivate an institutional climate that values and supports teaching and learning
  • Develop and support faculty through all stages of their academic careers

The FSC will accomplish these goals by collecting, curating, and connecting faculty to professional development opportunities and resources.

Faculty Newsletters


Photo of Lisa Baker
Lisa Baker, Ph.D., LCSW
Professor and Chair
Department of Social Work
Office: 1605 CHS Building 1
Photo of Nancy Biggio
Nancy C. Biggio
Associate Provost for Student Success and Institutional Research, Associate Professor of Core Curriculum
Academic Affairs
Office: 311 Samford Hall
Photo of Don Bradley
Don Bradley
Associate Dean, Professor
Geography and Sociology
Office: 125 Brooks Hall
Photo of Jonathan Davis
Jonathan Davis
Human Development and Family Life Education
Office: 131 Orlean Bullard Beeson Hall
Photo of Rita Fincher
Rita Malia Fincher
Associate Professor
Biological and Environmental Sciences
Office: 133 Propst Hall
Photo of Cynthia Frownfelter-Lohrke
Cynthia Frownfelter-Lohrke
Professor of Accounting
Department of Accounting
Office: 389 H Cooney Hall
Photo of Bryan Gill
Bryan D. Gill
University Assessment and Professional Studies
Office: 302 Beeson Hall
Photo of Peter Hughes
Peter J. Hughes, Pharm.D., BCPS
Associate Professor and Director, Faculty Success and Continuing Professional Development
Department of Pharmacy Practice
Office: 1449 CHS Building 1
Photo of Marci Johns
Marci S. Johns
Associate Provost for Accreditation, Online & Professional Studies, SACSCOC Liaison
Academic Affairs
Office: 421 Beeson Hall
Photo of Frank Patane
Frank Patane
Assistant Professor
Mathematics and Computer Science
Office: 306 Russell Hall
Photo of Hollea A.M. Ryan
Hollea A.M. Ryan, Au.D., Ph.D., CCC-A
Assistant Professor and DAUD Program Director
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Office: 2132 CHS Building 2
Photo of Carla Waddell
Carla Waddell
Associate Librarian, Chair University Library
University Library
Office: 225 University Library
Photo of Stephen Watson
Stephen Watson
Assistant Professor
Division of Art and Design, Department of Art
Office: 109 Art Lofts
Photo of Ashley York
Ashley York, DNP, AGNP-C, WHNP-BC
Assistant Professor
Office: 1524 CHS Building 1

Professional Development Opportunities

Coronavirus Cancellation Information

Campus events and visits through the end of the spring semester are either postponed or canceled. The Office of Events Management will contact event hosts with additional details. May 2020 commencement ceremonies have been postponed.

Writing Measurable Objectives and Creating a Course Map
April 15, 8 a.m. – 9 a.m.
DBH 307

Writing Measurable Objectives and Creating a Course Map


Practitioner to Professor FSC Series: Legal, Accreditation and Regulatory Compliance
April 17, 1 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
DBH 307

This 5th installment of the practitioner to professor series will guide new(er) faculty members into the world of legal, accreditation and regulatory compliance in higher education and specifically at Samford. Refreshments provided.


Quality Matters Training Workshop
April 24, 8:30 a.m. – 4 p.m.
DBH 307

Katherine Jarnigan will lead participants through the “Applying the Quality Matters Rubric” (APPQMR) one-day workshop.


View Dates and TimesExpand Icon
DBH 307

Back by popular demand, 2020 Innovate will again offer the opportunity for a select number of faculty to develop or update elements of a course. Be on the lookout for a call for proposals in Spring 2020.