Posted by Philip Poole on 2005-11-16

Samford University's presidential search committee met Nov. 11-12. The following statement was issued by search committee co-chairs Albert Brewer and Hobart Grooms Jr.:

"This meeting of the presidential search committee was our most intense and productive to date as we continued to review the qualifications of those candidates that we believe are most qualified to be the next president of Samford University. As the search enters the next phase, we ask for the continuing prayers of the Samford community as we work toward the time when we involve our constituent review panels in the process.

Every nomination and application has been carefully reviewed by every search committee member. We believe, at this point, that we have a sufficient number of prospects to move forward in the process.

We continue to be aware of the time frame established by President Corts' announced plans for retirement, and we are committed to conduct the search in the way that is best for Samford University and on a timeline that works best for Samford. We are grateful for the understanding and cooperative spirit of the Samford community as we continue that process."


Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 1st nationally for student engagement and U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 37th in the nation for best undergraduate teaching and 97th nationally for best value. Samford enrolls 5,758 students from 48 states and 22 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference, and ranks 3rd nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.