Posted by Hannah Henderson on 2015-03-25

A $15,000 grant from the Alabama State Department of Education’s Office of Teaching and Leading will help fund a pilot program providing education and training to Samford University faculty, support the revisions of coursework in programs, provide support and training for teacher education candidates seeking certification in various states and prepare students for edTPA submission in 2018. 

The Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) plans to implement a statewide performance assessment as a criterion for earning an Initial Professional Educator Certificate by fall of 2018. Teacher education candidates completing internships during fall semester 2018-2019 and thereafter will be required to provide documentation of having earned an acceptable score on the statewide performance assessment. 

The funding will help Samford establish a program which will provide training for the upcoming performance assessment. Betsy Rogers, department chair of curriculum and instruction at Samford, will oversee the program. 

“Since it is projected in 2018 Alabama will require a passing score on edTPA in order to receive teacher certification, this funding is integral in preparing our students for this change,” said Dr. Rogers. “The grant will help us provide support to our students in the portfolio submission process, and will provide additional student and faculty training and training for our school partners.” 

The assessment system will complement Alabama’s PLAN 2020 goal of ensuring every child is taught by a well-prepared, resourced, supported and effective teacher. 

School of Education

About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.