Published on March 14, 2016 by Sean Flynt  
Martin Luther presents his 95 Theses
Martin Luther presents his 95 Theses

Samford University will host its second biennial conference on Teaching the Christian Intellectual Tradition (TCIT) Oct. 6–8, 2016. The focus of this year’s conference is “Teaching the Reformations.”

Samford’s TCIT conferences are designed to encourage excellence in undergraduate teaching across the curriculum, with a particular emphasis on core curriculum and general education courses. Both specialists and nonspecialists are encouraged to submit paper proposals, but conference presentations are designed with the nonspecialist audience in mind, and directly address curricular and teaching strategies. 

Conference organizers are defining the Reformation broadly, both chronologically (c. 1450–1650) and confessionally (Magisterial Protestants, Radical Reformers, Catholic Reformers). In their call for papers (due June 1), they have encouraged a variety of topics and disciplinary approaches.

Reformation scholars R. Ward Holder of St. Anselm College and G. Sujin Pak of Duke Divinity School are scheduled to present keynote addresses at the conference.

The conference fee is $95 for faculty and $50 for graduate students.

TCIT 2016 call for papers and conference details

About Samford UniversitySamford is a premier nationally ranked Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts and a distinct blend of graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 3rd nationally for student engagement and Kiplinger’s Personal Finance ranks Samford 34th among private universities in the U.S. for value and affordability. Samford enrolls 5,692 students from 46 states and 28 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.