Global Engagement

Samford in the Developing World

While interest in international experiential education opportunities has increased dramatically in recent years, the Mann Center for Ethics and Leadership has been in the forefront of this emerging and evolving field. With a network of partnerships on and off campus, the Mann Center has sought to engage students, faculty, and departments whose work contributes to the well-being of global and local communities and advance the overall internationalization of the University.

Community Partners

A.G. Gaston Boys & Girls Club

Rose Walker

646-797-6262
rwalker@aggbgc.org
www.aggbgc.org

Aldridge Botanical Gardens

Peggy McRay

205-682-8019 ext. 2
www.aldridgegardens.com

Amedisys Hospice Care

Diane Rogers

205-868-9221
diane.rogers@amedisys.com
www.amedisys.com

American Cancer Society's Joe Lee Griffin Hope Lodge

Cindy Perdue

205-558-7860
cindy.perdue@cancer.org
www.cancer.org

American Red Cross Birmingham-Jefferson Chapter

Jean Petties

205-795-8700
jean.petties@redcross.org
www.redcross.org/local/alabama/about/chapters/mid-alabama

American Red Cross Blood Donation

800-733-2767
www.redcrossblood.org/donating-blood

Autism Society of Alabama

Angel Loewen

205-951-1364
angel@autism-alabama.org
www.autism-alabama.org

Avail

Hunter Davis, Austin Richardson

205-202-9729
austin@ajonrich.com
availorg.wordpress.com

Big Brothers Big Sisters

S Johnson

205-939-5590 ext. 29
sjohnson@bbbsbhm.org
bbbsbhm.org

Birmingham Botanical Gardens

Taylor Steele

205-414-3962
tsteele@bbgardens.org
www.bbgardens.org

Birmingham Civil Rights Institute

Yvonne Williams

205-328-9696 ext. 203
ywilliams@bcri.org
www.bcri.org

Black Warrior Riverkeeper

Charles Scribner

205-458-0095
cscribner@blackwarriorriver.org
www.blackwarriorriver.org

Blueprints College Success Initiative

Keslie Boyles

205-939-1408
kboyles@alabamapossible.org
blueprintsalabama.wordpress.com

Brother Bryan Mission

bkeen@bbmission.com

205-322-0092
www.brotherbryanmission.com

Camp Smile-A-Mile

Jennifer Amundsen

205-323-8427
jennifer.amundsen@campsam.org
www.campsam.org

Changed Lives Christian Center

Tyrone Machlin, Brandon Lackey

205-521-6421
www.cl-cc.org

Chateau Vestavia Retirement Community

205-822-4773
moreinfo@chateauvestavia.com
www.chateauvestavia.com

Children's Aid Society

Diane Daffron

205-251-7198
ddaffron@childrensaid.org
www.childrensaid.org

City of Fairfield Alabama

Torin Brazzle

205-983-7643
fairfieldal.us

Collat Jewish Family Services

Jennifer Nemet

205-879-3438 ext. 7118
jennifer@cjfsbham.org
www.cjfsbham.org

Community Food Bank of Central Alabama

Jilleyn Foley

205-942-8911 ext. 9
www.feedingal.org

Cornerstone Schools

Anca Hanson

205-769-0035
ahanson@csalabama.org
csalabama.org

Crisis Center of Birmingham

Valerie Shayman

205-458-8985
www.crisiscenterbham.com

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Jennifer McEuen

205-870-8565
jmceuen@cff.org
www.cff.org/chapters/alabama

Disability Rights and Resources

Josh Whitmire

205-251-2223 ext. 115
josh.whitmire@drradvocates.org
www.ilrgb.org

Eastern Area Christian Missions

Lola Whisenant

205-441-4678
www.foodpantries.org/li/eastern_area_christian_ministries_35206

East Lake United Methodist Church

Cheryl Hinnen; Andrew Feldewerth

205-836-3201
cheryl.eastlakeumc@gmail.com
www.eastlakeumc.net

Expect Care Hospice and In Home Care

Lance Lee

205-937-6933
lance@expectcare.com
www.expectcare.com

First Light Women's Shelter

Deborah Everson

205-323-4277
volunteer@firstlightshelter.org
www.firstlightshelter.org

Girl Scouts of Hoover

Kristina Theall

205-218-9725
ktheall@gmail.com
www.girlscoutsnca.org

Girl Scouts of North-Central

Heather Pike

800-734-4541
hpike@girlscoutsnca.org
www.girlscoutsnca.org

Girls Inc. of Central Alabama

Angela Eakins

205-599-5545
aeakins@girlsinccentral-al.org
www.girlsinccentral-al.org

Glenwood Autism & Behavioral Health Center

Lillian Haines

205-795-3251
lhaines@glenwood.org
www.glenwood.org

Grace House Ministries, Inc.

Jessica Morales

205-786-4663 ext. 108
jessica@grace-house.org
www.grace-house.org

Greater Birmingham Humane Society

Ramona Graffeo

205-397-8539
rgraffeo@gbhs.org
www.gbhs.org

Greater Birmingham Ministries

Brandon Fountain

205-326-6821
brandon@gbm.org
www.gbm.org

Greenbriar at the Altamont Retirement Community

Cathy Triequet

205-323-2724
ctriequet@nolandhealth.com
www.greenbriaratthealtamont.com

Habitat for Humanity of Greater Birmingham

Sabrina Balch; David Osula

205-780-1234 ext. 319
sbalch@habitatbirmingham.org
www.habitatbirmingham.org

Hispanic Interest Coalition of Alabama

Vanessa Stevens

205-942-5505
vstevens@hispanicinterest.org
www.hispanicinterest.org

Holy Family Cristo Rey High School

Landon Taylor (rep from Blueprints)

205-263-0144
ltaylor@alabamapossible.org
www.hfcristorey.org

Jones Valley Teaching Farm

Amanda Storey

205-453-7208
volunteer@jvtf.org
www.jvtf.org

Kid One Transport

Mary Anne King

205-978-1000
making@kidone.org
www.kidone.org

Lakeshore Foundation

Laurie Berenotto

205-313-7476
laurieb@lakeshore.org
www.lakeshore.org

Leukemia and Lymphoma Society

Ashley Owens

205-989-0098
ashley.owens@lls.org
www.lls.org

M-Power Ministries Education Center

Rene Bradberry

205-595-5959 ext. 204
rene.bradberry@mpowerministries.org
www.mpowerministries.org

M-Power Ministries Literacy Center

Lin Musgrove

205-595-5959 ext. 206
literacy@mpowerministries.org
www.mpowerministries.org

National Multiple Sclerosis Society

Mary Emily

205-879-8546
mary.yancy@nmss.org
www.nationalmssociety.org

NorthStar Youth Ministries

Val Peterson; Katie Hill

205-586-2959
valkpeterson@gmail.com
www.northstaryouthministries.org

Railroad Park Foundation

Memri Williams

205-521-9933
americorps@railroadpark.org
www.railroadpark.org

Restoration Academy

Ryan Adams; Jillie Rufe and Lindsey Gannaway

205-785-8805 ext. 105
radams@restorationacademy.org
www.restorationacademy.org

Ronald McDonald House

Chyan Nuttall

205-638-7372
Chyan.Nuttall@rmhca.org
www.rmhca.org

Ruffner Mountain Nature Center

Lindsey Darby

205-833-8264 ext. 12
lindsey@ruffnermountain.org
www.ruffnermountain.org

Salvation Army of Greater Birmingham

Stephen Long

205-328-2420
Stephen_Lee_Long@uss.salvationarmy.org
www.birminghamsalvationarmy.org

Sloss Furnaces

Heather Guy Nowak

205-324-1911
hguy@slossfurnaces.com
www.slossfurnaces.com

The Arc of Jefferson County

Amanda Marcrum

205-705-1809
amarcrum@arcofjeff.com
www.arcofjeff.com

The Bell Center

Mary Ashley Canevaro

205-879-3417
mcanevaro@thebellcenter.org
www.thebellcenter.org

The Community Kitchens of Birmingham

Andrea Blackert

205-251-3569
volunteer@thecommunitykitchens.org
www.thecommunitykitchens.org

The Exceptional Foundation

Caroline Sparrow; Devynne Roarig

205-870-0776
csparrow@exceptionalfoundation.org
www.exceptionalfoundation.org

United Cerebral Palsy of Greater Birmingham

Dr. Gary

205-944-3901
egary@ucpbham.com
www.ucpbham.com

United Methodist Children’s Home

Rebecca Morris

205-226-7936
katherine.lowe@umch.net
www.umch.net

Vitas Innovative Hospice

205-502-5959
www.vitas.com

Vulcan Park and Museum

Lindsay Elliott

205-933-1409 ext. 29
lelliott@visitvulcan.com
www.visitvulcan.com

Wish 2 Enrich

Suzanne Eberhardt

205-883-5133
suzanne@wish2enrich.org
www.wish2enrich.org

YWCA Family Resource Center

Russell Willoughby

205-949-5552
rwilloughby@ywcabham.org
www.ywcabham.org

YWCA of Central Alabama

Mary Jane Gibson

205-322-9922 ext. 343
mjhebert@ywcabham.org
www.ywcabham.org