Posted by Mary Wimberley on 1999-04-16

Samford University recognized students for top scholarship and service at a special convocation Thursday, April 15.

    Webb Morgan of Canton, Miss., received the James M. Sizemore Award as the senior who best demonstrates loyalty and service to the University.

    Chris Price of Jacksonville, Fla., received the John R. Mott Award as the male in the senior class judged to represent the highest type of student public service. Price was also chosen the male recipient of the Rufus W. Shelton Community Service Award.

    Jenni Lind Drury of Lake Mary, Fla., was named the female recipient of the Shelton Community Service Award.

    Susan Corts of Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., received the Gail Hyle Memorial Award in recognition of Christian character, leadership, school spirit and service.

    Aimee Hutchinson of Gadsden and Lucas Dorion of Pensacola, Fla., received the Luke 2:52 awards, given to two students who excel in all areas of student life.

    Nathan Lott of Tyrone, Ga., received the overall service award in recognition of  special service to the University.

    Heather Freeman of Pegram, Tenn., received the Hypatia Cup for scholarship, leadership and service.

    Katherine McCarthy of Hoover received the Hypatia Scholarship as one who best represents the qualities of the organization.

    Deborah Marie Malmborg of Waycross, Ga., received the John C. Pittman Award as the best example of leadership, academic excellence and Christian commitment.

    Awards for outstanding academic performance in various areas of study went to: Dana Dews of Albany, Ga.; Christy Droke of Corinth, Miss.; Amy Menefee of Macon, Ga.; Brickey LeQuire of Maryville, Tenn.; Rachel Nobles of Manassas, Va.; and John Wilson Ragsdale of Knoxville, Tenn.