Posted by William Nunnelley on 1999-07-02

Dr. William E. Hull, University Professor and former provost of Samford University, has received the Charles D Johnson Outstanding Educator Award presented by the Association of Southern Baptist Colleges and Schools.

Dr. Hull was honored for his "significant contribution as author, lecturer and educator to Southern Baptist-related higher education" during the organization's annual meeting in June, held this year at Baylor University, Waco, Tex. The award honors the memory of Johnson, who served as chairman of the Southern Baptist
Convention Education Commission from 1932-53.

Bob Agee, executive director of the ASBCS, praised Hull's "invaluable contributions to the lives of countless educational and religious leaders," including his own.
Agee is a former Hull student.

Hull served as Samford provost (chief academic officer) and University Professor from 1987 until 1996, when he retired as provost to teach full-time. He was instructor, professor, dean and provost at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Ky., during 1954-75.

A graduate of Samford and Southern Seminary, Hull is the author of five books on theology, chapters in 17 other books and numerous articles in scholarly and denominational publications. His latest book is "The University Through the Eyes of Faith," published in 1998.

The theologian has delivered 11 lectureships and spoken on "The Baptist Hour" radio program and at numerous state, national and international Baptist conventions. An ordained minister, he was pastor of Shreveport, La., First Baptist Church during 1975-87.