Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2000-01-13

Dr. Joseph O. Dean, Jr., Dean of Samford University's McWhorter School of Pharmacy, has been elected chair-elect of the Council of Deans of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

The Council is comprised of each dean and associate dean from the 81 U.S. schools of pharmacy. The council, together with the Council of Faculties, comprise the governing body of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

Dr. Dean, a Samford pharmacy graduate, has been dean of McWhorter School of Pharmacy since 1991.


About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.