Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2002-01-18

Dr. Joseph O. Dean, Jr., Dean of Samford University's McWhorter School of Pharmacy, has received the 2001 Dean's Recognition Award given by the American College of Apothecaries (ACA).

The award recognizes outstanding service to community pharmacy practice by a dean of a college or school of pharmacy. The award was presented at the ACA's recent annual conference.

Dr. Dean began his career as the owner of an independent pharmacy in Helena before making a career change to pharmacy education and higher education administration. A Birmingham native and graduate of the Samford pharmacy school, he has been dean of the school since 1991.

As dean, he established McWhorter School of Pharmacy's Center for Advancement for Pharmaceutical Care Development in Community Pharmacy. The Center works with community pharmacists throughout Alabama to improve the use and application of drug therapy.
About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.