Posted by Mary Wimberley on 2003-03-26

Retired Samford University chemistry professor Dr. Leven S. Hazlegrove of Homewood received the highest honor given by the Alabama Academy of Science (AAS) at its annual meeting, held at Jacksonville State University March 21.

He received the Wright A. Gardner Award, given annually to recognize an Alabama resident for noteworthy achievement in the field of science.

Dr. Hazlegrove, who retired in 1990 after 33 years on the Samford faculty, has served as executive director of the AAS since 1990. He has been a member of the board of trustees and chairman of judges, Gorgas Scholarship Foundation, Inc., since 1976. A Samford graduate, he holds a master of science in analytical chemistry from Emory University and a Ph.D. in physical chemistry from the University of Alabama.

He has directed three international chemistry institutes for college professors in East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) for the U.S. State Department, and has presented scientific papers at the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry in Prague and at national meetings of the American Chemical Society.


Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 1st nationally for student engagement and U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 37th in the nation for best undergraduate teaching and 97th nationally for best value. Samford enrolls 5,758 students from 48 states and 22 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference, and ranks 3rd nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.