Posted by Philip Poole on 2003-08-11

Marlene M. Reed has been named acting dean of Samford University’s School of Business, effective Aug. 18.

Reed replaces Carl Gooding, who resigned earlier this summer to accept a teaching position at Jacksonville State University, Jacksonville, Ala.

Reed, who is Margaret Gage Bush University Professor, will have primary administrative responsibilities for the School of Business until a new dean is selected.

"We are fortunate to have a person with Dr. Reed’s experience and skills to serve in this interim capacity,” said Samford Provost J. Bradley Creed. “I look forward to working with her in providing guidance and support to the School of Business during this time of transition."

Reed has taught at Samford since 1981, primarily in the areas of economics and entrepreneurship. Earlier she had a successful 15-year career in industry. Gooding came to Samford in 2001 after serving 15 years as dean of the college of business at Georgia Southern University, Statesboro.

The School of Business, one of eight academic colleges and schools at Samford, had 476 undergraduate and graduate students and 20 full-time faculty during the 2002-03 academic year.


Samford is a leading Christian university offering undergraduate programs grounded in the liberal arts with an array of nationally recognized graduate and professional schools. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th-oldest institution of higher learning in the United States. The Wall Street Journal ranks Samford 1st nationally for student engagement and U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 37th in the nation for best undergraduate teaching and 97th nationally for best value. Samford enrolls 5,758 students from 48 states and 22 countries in its 10 academic schools: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy and public health. Samford fields 17 athletic teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference, and ranks 3rd nationally for its Graduation Success Rate among all NCAA Division I schools.