Posted by Philip Poole on 2003-11-21

Samford University honored seven Alabama ministers with the annual minister of the year recognition at a breakfast during the Alabama State Baptist Convention meeting.

"Ministers are an important part of who Samford is, not just as students but those in field who support our university," said Samford President Thomas E. Corts. "We always are pleased to honor those who serve so faithfully in God's kingdom."

Richard G. Crowe of Bessemer was honored as retired minister of the year. Crowe served as pastor of several Alabama churches as director of missions for Coffee Baptist Association.

Bill Morgan of Autauga Baptist Association was honored as metro director of missions. Morgan also is a chaplain with the Alabama Army National Guard.

Jack Wright was recognized as town and country director of missions. He has served Clarke Baptist Association in various capacities for more than 35 years.

Pastors honored included M. R. Bradley of Benton Baptist Church in Selma Association, churches from 1- 300 members; Harlon Hood of Shiloh Baptist Church in Morgan County , churches from 301-1000 members; and Jay L. Wolf of First Baptist Church , Montgomery , churches of more than 1000 members.

D'Linell Finley, part-time pastor of Southlawn and Rock of Ages Baptist churches, Montgomery , was recognized as bivocational minister of the year. Finley also is assistant professor of political science at Auburn University-Montgomery.

About Samford University – Samford University is a premier nationally ranked private university deeply rooted in its Christian mission. Founded in 1841, Samford is the 87th oldest institution of higher education in the United States. U.S. News & World Report ranks Samford 4th among regional universities in the South. Samford enrolls 5,619 students from 44 states, the District of Columbia and 29 other countries in its 10 academic units: arts, arts and sciences, business, divinity, education, health professions, law, nursing, pharmacy, and public health. Samford also fields 17 NCAA Division I teams that compete in the tradition-rich Southern Conference.